The List of Countries That Have Been Banned From The World Cup is Growing

Published on October 13th, 2022 11:50 am EST
Written By: Dave Manuel

The nations that have been banned from the World Cup.  In photo: Russia attacking forward Alexandr Golovin. The World Cup is football's most prestigious event.

Getting banned from the World Cup is a great embarrassment for the country involved.

Since the start of the World Cup, a total of seven countries have been banned from participating in the World Cup.

Of the seven countries, six have since been reinstated, while a seventh is still on the sidelines.

Here are the seven countries that have been banned:

1. Japan, 1950.

After the 1942 and 1946 World Cups were cancelled due to World War 2, Japan was punished by being banned from the World Cup, though they would regain their eligibility.

2. Germany, 1950.

Germany was also banned from participating in the 1950 World Cup, due to World War 2.

3. South Africa, 1970, 1974, 1978, 1982, 1986, 1990.

This remains the longest ban in the history of the World Cup, and came about as the result of apartheid in the country.

FIFA would expel South Africa in 1976, though they will eventually regain their eligiblity a few decades later.

4. Mexico, 1990.

Mexico tried to pull a fast one in a junior tournament, where they included four players that were over the age limit.

FIFA found out and banned Mexico for two years as a result, causing the country to miss the 1990 World Cup.

5. Chile, 1994.

This is a bizarre one.

During a game against Brazil in 1989, Chilean goalkeeper Roberto Rojas pretended to get hurt by a flare.

In reality, he had used a blade hidden in his glove to cut himself.

FIFA found out about it, and banned Chile from the 1994 World Cup.

6. Myanmar, 2006.

Myanmar was scheduled to play a 2002 World Cup qualifying match against Iran.

Myanmar pulled out of the match, and FIFA swiftly banned Myanmar from the 2006 World Cup as a result.

7. Russia, 2022.

As a result of their invasion of Ukraine, Russia was banned from the 2002 World Cup.

It remains to be seen how long this ban of Russia will remain in effect.


These are the seven countries that have been banned from the World Cup.

Related Articles