Wayne Gretzky Won Hart Trophy Eight Straight Times

Published on February 29th, 2024 2:09 pm EST
Written By: Dave Manuel

The MVP streak that might never be broken - Wayne Gretzky. Wayne Gretzky owns many records that will likely never be broken.

A record that most people don't talk about is his NINE Hart Trophy awards (Most Valuable Player).

Of these nine MVP awards, eight came during a streak that started in Gretzky's first year in the NHL.


Wayne Gretzky's first year in the NHL came in 1979-80.

During this season, at the tender age of just 19, Gretzky notched 137 points (51 goals, 86 assists).

The Edmonton Oilers weren't very good that season - finishing with a record of 28-39-13 - but the Hart Trophy still went to Gretzky, who shocked the league with just how good he was as a teenager.

After that, Gretzky got even better, putting up incredible numbers.

The Oilers got much better as a team, which made Gretzky's Hart Trophy awards a given - if you gave Gretzky the award when the Oilers weren't very good, how could you deny him when his numbers were even better and the Oilers were the best team in the league?

From 1979-80 to 1986-87, Gretzky won the Hart Trophy award each and every season. In total, Gretzky won eight consecutive MVP awards.


In 1987-88, Gretzky would have won the award again if it weren't for a player named Mario Lemieux, who put up 168 points in 77 games.

Gretzky finished with 149 points that season, though he played 13 games less than Lemieux.


The next season, 1988-89, would be Gretzky's first with the Los Angeles Kings.

Despite Mario Lemieux finishing as the league's top scorer once again, Gretzky would win his ninth Hart Trophy, as he led a resurgence in Los Angeles that saw the Kings finish with a record of 42-31-7.

Gretzky would finish the season with 168 points.

This would be the last MVP award that the "Great One" would ever win.

Related Articles