Nitto ATP Finals - History, Prize Money, Winners and Betting Odds

Tournament Details:

Date: 2024.11.10 - TBA
Location: Turin, Italy
Sport: Tennis
Surface: Indoor hard court
Total Prize Money: €7.25M

The ATP Finals is the annual man's tennis event conducted at the end of the year on the basis of the performances in the ATP tour throughout the tour. One can call it the final of the finals, with cumulative points of all the tour events, added up to qualify for the event.

Novak Djokovic is one of the elite winners of the Nitto ATP Finals tennis tournament.2023 Winner:

In the ATP Finals championship match, Novak Djokovic outplayed Jannik Sinner, winning comfortably with scores of 6-3, 6-3.

This victory marks Djokovic's seventh ATP Finals title, a new record that surpasses Roger Federer's previous record. Djokovic's total career titles now stand at 98, nearing the rare 100-title milestone that only Jimmy Connors (109) and Federer (103) have achieved in men's tennis.

Additionally, Djokovic has reached an impressive milestone of 400 weeks as the world No. 1, widening his lead to 90 weeks more than Federer, who holds the second place in this achievement.


ATP Finals started as the Masters Grand Prix Championship in 1970. This was replaced by ATP Tour World Championships in 1990, following the ATP take over. ATP and International Tennis Federation introduced a new Tennis Masters Cup in the year 2000 to determine the ultimate winner of the tour. This was renamed to ATP World Tour finals in 2009 and to the current title of ATP Finals in 2017.


Multiple Arenas have hosted the competition over the years. The O2 Arena in London was contracted to host the event between 2009-13. However, the contract was extended twice, which meant that it hosted the event till 2020. In 2019, ATP announced Turin, Italy, to host the ATP finals between 2021 and 2025.
Currently, it is played at Pala Alpitour on Hard Indoor Courts. The current event is named Nitto ATP Finals

Qualification Procedure:

The qualification scenario for the ATP finals is an interesting one. The top seven players on the tour Rankings automatically qualify for the ATP Tour Finals. The Eighth spot is reserved for a player who has won a Grand Slam title that year and is ranked between 8th - 20th on the rankings.

If there are more than one players who have won a grand slam that year and are ranked in 8th-20th. Then, the higher-ranked player qualifies for the Finals.

In the case of no such player with a Grand Slam Triumph and ranking between 8th - 20th, the 8th ranked player automatically qualifies, regardless of the Grand Slam Criteria.

What's the format of the ATP Finals?

ATP Finals feature 8 players in the Singles Category and 8 teams in the doubles event. The 8 players and teams playing at the ATP Finals are divided into two groups of 4 players/teams. In the round Robin stage, each player/team plays three matches against other players/teams. In short, everyone plays everyone once in the group stage. Following the group stage, the top two ranked teams/players from each group advance to the semi-finals.

Tie Breakers for Group Ties:

If two players end up with an equal number of points at the end of the group stage, the Head-to-Head round robin result is used as a tie-breaker.

In the case of three players having a tie in terms of points, the following three tie-breakers are used to separate them:

The highest percentage of sets won in the group stage

The highest percentage of games won in the group stage

Highest ranking at the start of the tournament

Prize Money:

The Prize Money of the Finals was a mammoth 7.25 Million US Dollars in 2021.

Past Champions and Records:

ATP Finals are also called the Fifth Grand Slam of the year because of the highly competitive nature and rich history of the competition. Over the years, all the greats of the game have competed at the Finals. The Big names on the Honour Board include Roger Federer, Ivan Lendl, Pete Sampras, Novak Djokovic, John McEnroe, Boris Becker, Ilie Nastase, Andre Agassi, Jimmy Connors, and Stan Smith.

Among the Big 3, Rafael Nadal made it to the finals twice but was beaten by Federer and Djokovic on separate occasions. Nadal is the top-ranked player coming into the 2022 finals. Let's see if he can make it this time.

Most Titles:

In the Singles Category, Roger Federer leads the records with a record number of 10 Finals and a record 6 titles. Other than Federer, Ivan Lendl, Pete Sampras, and Novak Djokovic have won five titles each.

Novak Djokovic's five titles included a record four consecutive titles between 2012 and 2015.

In 2011, Roger Federer became the oldest player to win the ATP Finals at the age of 30 years and three months.

In the doubles category, the US pair of Peter Fleming and John McEnroe has won the finals on a record seven occasions. What's special about their partnership is that they won the title on seven consecutive occasions between 1978 and 1984. Other than them, Mike Bryan won the title five times, out of which four titles came while partnering with his brother Bob Bryan.


View more Tennis Tournaments