Singapore Grand Prix - Betting Odds, Event Details, Records and Favourites to Win

Date: 2023/09/15-17
Location: Marina Bay Street Circuit

One of the major stops in the Formula One Championship is the Singapore Grand Prix, which is among the few F1 Grand Prix races that are held at night. The Prix was first held in 1966. Until now, the Prix has been held 20 times at two different venues. The last race was held in 2019, as the pandemic led to the cancellation of the 2020 and 2021 editions.

The Singapore Grand Prix is a night Formula One race held at Marina Bay Street Circuit.  Bet on it!Location and Circuit Details:

During the 1960s and 1970s, the Singapore Grand Prix was held at Thomson Road. However, since 2008, the Prix has regularly been held at Marina Bay Street Circuit. The circuit is a tricky and twisty one, with close proximity to the walls forcing the drivers to be more cautious. The top speeds are the highest at the end of the first circuit, thus making it the right portion of the track for overtaking the opponents. With 90 degree turns and high variability, the track is a great test of a driver's experience and skill set.

Race Length and Laps:

The total length of the Singapore Grand Prix is 308.706 kilometers, while each lap has a length of 5.063km. In total, there are 61 laps in the Prix.

Past winners - Drivers:

In the past, the Grand Prix has been dominated by the German racing driver Sebastian Vettel and the all-time great Sir Lewis Hamilton.

Who has won the Singapore Grand Prix the most times?

Sebastian Vettel

The German Racing Champion Sebastian Vettel has dominated the Singapore Grand Prix with 5 Victories at the venue. Interestingly, he is also the reigning champion at the Singapore Grand Prix, winning the last edition of the Race back in 2019. Vettel is currently a part of the Aston Martin Team. However, in the past, he has won the Prix for Ferrari and Red Bull.

Vettel registered three consecutive victories at the Singapore Grand Prix between 2011 and 2013. Later he won his fourth and fifth Races at Grand Prix in 2015 and 2019, respectively.

Sir Lewis Hamilton

Sir Lewis Hamilton has won the Singapore Grand Prix with McLaren and Mercedes. He has been at the pole position in the Singapore Grand Prix on three occasions but has won the Race four times. His first victory came with the McLaren team in 2009. Later, he registered victories at the venue in 2014, 2017, and 2018.

Other winners at the Grand Prix:

Graeme Lawrence won the Singapore Grand Prix thrice between 1969 and 1971. The Spanish racer Fernando Alonso won the 2008 Grand Prix for Renault while he won the Race again in 2010, but this time with Ferrari.

Constructors Titles:

Mercedes and Ferrari have won the Singapore Grand Prix on record four occasions. Mercedes won in 2014, 2016, 2017, and 2018 while Ferrari won it in 1970, 2010, 2015, and 2019. Red Bull won the Singapore Grand Prix Thrice in 2011, 2012, and 2013. Similarly, McLaren won in 1969 and 2009.

Engine Manufacturers:

Among Engine Manufacturers, Mercedes and Ford hold the record with 5 victories. Ford won it in 1966, 1967, 1968, 1969, and 1971 while Mercedes clinched the title in 2009, 2014, 2016, 2017, and 2018. Renault and Ferrari have won it four times.

Singapore Grand Prix Records:

Lewis Hamilton set the all-time record at the circuit in the qualifying rounds of the 2018 Singapore Grand Prix with a lap time of 1:36.015 at the speed of 189.832 km/h.

In the same year, the Danish Driver Kevin Magnussen managed a lap time of 1:41.905 at the speed of 178.860 km/h to set up the official lap record.

2023 Singapore Grand Prix:

The 2023 Singapore Grand Prix is scheduled over the weekend between September 15th and 17th.

In the 2023 F1 World Championship, this will be the 17th Race out of 23 scheduled for the year and some important and decisive points will be up for grabs.

Future Editions of the Singapore Grand Prix:

In January 2022, Formula 1 extended the contract of the Singapore Grand Prix by a period of 7 years, which comes as great news. Now, Singapore Grand Prix is officially one of the F1 World Championship's schedule till 2028.


View more Sporting Contests