No Repeat Winners in EPL Since 2008-09

Published on August 12th, 2018 2:11 pm EST
Written By: Dave Manuel
Click Here To Bet on UCL

What are the odds of Manchester City winning the 2018-19 season of the English Premier League. Can Man City break the "champion's curse" and become the first English Premier League team to win multiple titles since Manchester United accomplished the task in 2007-08 and 2008-09?

Not only have teams not be able to repeat since Man Utd accomplished the task a decade ago, though many times have found themselves falling off hard the next season, finishing far out of contention.

Chelsea, for instance, finished 5th last season, 30 points off of the blistering pace that was set by the eventual league winners, Man City.

The year prior to that, Leicester City saw their Cinderella story evaporate in front of their eyes, as they finished in 12th place (49 points off the pace) after their historic EPL title the year prior.

The season before that? Chelsea was the defending champion and finished an amazing 31 points off the pace.

This means that, over the past three seasons, the defending champion has finished an average of more than 35 points off of the pace.

Let's take a look at the recent numbers:

Reigning Champion: Chelsea
Finished: 5th, 30 points off pace

Reigning Champion: Leicester City
Finished: 12th, 49 points off pace

Reigning Champion: Chelsea
Finished: 10th, 31 points off pace

Reigning Champion: Man City
Finished: 2nd, 8 points off pace

Reigning Champion: Man Utd
Finished: 7th, 22 points off pace

Reigning Champion: Man City
Finished: 2nd, 11 points off pace

Reigning Champion: Man Utd
Finished: 2nd, 0 points off pace

Reigning Champion: Chelsea
Finished: 2nd, 9 points off pace

Reigning Champion: Man Utd
Finished: 2nd, 1 point off pace


Man City, however, looks poised to make a strong run at the title yet again this season, as they looked impeccable in their first contest against Arsenal earlier today.

Related Articles