Jim Brown Remains Only Rookie To Be Named MVP

Published on January 22nd, 2023 12:25 pm EST
Written By: Dave Manuel

In photo: Jim Brown tackled by opposing team.  The only NFL rookie to win an MVP award. Over the history of the NFL, only one rookie has ever been named MVP.

Jim Brown.

There have been some tremendous rookie seasons over the history of the NFL - Gale Sayers, Night Train Lane and Randy Moss, just to name a few.

Only one player, however, has ever been named the league MVP in their first season in the league, and that was Jim Brown.


Jim Brown was a phenomenal multi-sport star in college, and it surprised nobody when he was taken in the first round of the 1957 NFL Draft by the Cleveland Browns.

Brown was excellent right out of the gate - in fact, he led the league in rushing yards in all but one of his nine seasons in the league.

Brown led the league in rushing in his rookie season, as he ended up rushing for 942 yards in 12 games.

Jim Brown would find the endzone a total of 10 times over the course of his rookie campaign, and he would add 55 receiving yards as well.

The Browns, led by Jim Brown, were excellent in the 1957 season, as they compiled a record of 9-2-1 in the regular season before losing to the Detroit Lions in the championship game.


The choice to name Brown as the league's MVP was an easy one in 1957, as he led the league in rushing yards and rushing touchdowns.

In addition to being named MVP, Brown was also named Rookie of the Year (obviously) and First-team All-Pro.


Brown would beat out Y.A. Tittle and Johnny Unitas for MVP honors in 1957 - here is how the voting shook out:

Jim Brown - 14 votes
Y.A. Tittle - 10 votes
Johnny Unitas - 7 votes
Joe Schmidt - 3 votes
Duane Putnam - 1 vote
Billy Wilson - 1 vote

Related Articles