ICC Cricket World Cup - Betting Odds, Event Details, History and Records

Date: 2027.10.TBA
Contest: CRICKET
Location: India

ICC Cricket World Cup is the biggest cricketing event on the calendar as teams from around the world come together to participate in the Ultimate Carnival of Cricket.

2023 Winner:

Australia won their sixth Cricket World Cup title by beating India with a margin of six wickets in the 2023 final, held in Ahmedabad on Sunday.

2023 Betting Odds

The tournament hosts, India, were the slight favourites going into the tournament, according to the odds.

Source: Bet365
Time Stamp: September 19th, 2023 12:03 pm EST
Odds Subject to Change

India +220
England +300
Australia +450
Pakistan +650
New Zealand +750
South Africa +1000
Sri Lanka +2500
Afganistan +3300
Bangladesh +5000
Netherlands +75000


The history of Cricket dates back to the 1840s, as the United States and Canada were the first teams to play an international cricket match. However, Cricket did not grow and flourish as much in these countries as it did in other parts of the world. The first ever Test Match (Longest format of Cricket - 5 Day Matches) was played between England and Australia in 1877. South Africa entered the mix with its membership in 1889.

In 1900, Cricket made its first and so far only appearance at the Summer Olympics, where Britain won against France to take Gold. Cricket grew as West Indies, New Zealand, India and Pakistan became full members in the following decades.

With the expansion of the game, a Cricketing World Cup was started in 1975. England hosted the inaugural edition of the competition, and West Indies emerged as the eventual winner of the competition. Only 8 teams were part of the inaugural competition. Back then, one-day matches involved 60 overs per innings but were later reduced to 50 overs.

Governing Council:

International Cricket Council(ICC) is the governing body for Cricket which organizes and manages all international cricketing tournaments. ICC has a total of 108 members. These include 12 full members and 96 associate members.


Over the years, the full members of the ICC qualified automatically for the world cup. In addition to the full members, associate members play in a qualification tournament named the ICC World Cup Qualifiers. These qualifying teams join the main pool of teams. Over the years, 10, 12, 14, and 16 team tournaments have been played.


The current ICC Cricket World Cup Trophy was first created in 1999 and has remained the permanent prize for the championship since then. It's made of pure Gold and Silver, with a Golden Globe at the top. In total, the trophy weighs 11 kg and is 60 centimeters high.

Prize Money:

The total prize money for the recent-most edition of the ICC Cricket World Cup (2019) was 14 million US Dollars, with the winning team receiving a mammoth 4.8 million US Dollars.

Past Winners:

Over the years, Australia has been the most successful team in the ICC Cricket World Cup history. Out of the 12 editions, Australia has won 6, with three consecutive titles between 1999 and 2007. This was the ultimate era of Australian Domination.

India and West Indies:

West Indies was the winner of the first two editions of the ICC Cricket World Cup, as they won the titles in 1975 and 1979. India won its first World Cup in 1983 and added another one to its tally in 2011.

Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and England:

ICC Cricket World Cup 1992 was different in many ways as it introduced colored uniforms, Floodlights, and White Balls for the first time. Under the inspirational Leadership of Imran Khan, Pakistan emerged as the eventual winner of the World Cup.

The following edition was jointly hosted by Pakistan, India, and Sri Lanka in 1996. The co-hosts, Sri Lanka, won the title after impressive performances by the side in the semi-final and final.

England is the only other team to have won the ICC Cricket World Cup. They won it in 2019 after the most dramatic cricket match of all time and are the reigning champions.

Leading Batsman and Bowler:

Sachin Tendulkar, also known as the God of Cricket, leads the batting records at the World Cups with 2,278 runs (the most by a batsman in a World Cup). On the other end, the bowling charts are led by Glenn McGrath, who has picked up 71 wickets in World Cups.


View more Sporting Contests