Michael Jordan Leads The Way With Six NBA Finals MVP Awards

Published on May 23rd, 2022 1:16 pm EST
Written By: Dave Manuel

In photo: Michael Jordan attempting a shot.  MJ is the record holder for most NBA Finals MVP Award wins. The list of names that have won multiple NBA Finals MVP awards contains some of the greatest players to have ever played the game.

Michael Jordan, LeBron James, Magic Johnson, Shaquille O'Neal, Tim Duncan, Willis Reed, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Larry Bird, Hakeem Olajuwon, Kobe Bryant, Kevin Durant and Kawhi Leonard have all won the award multiple times.

All of these names are either already in the Hall of Fame, or will be going into the Hall of Fame when their careers are done.


The player with the most NBA Finals MVP awards, of course, is Michael Jordan, who won the award six times over the course of his career.

Jordan is one of only two players - Shaq is the other - who won the award in three consecutive seasons.

The crazy thing? MJ did it TWICE (1991-1993, 1996-1998).


LeBron James is the only player to have ever won the award four times (2012, 2013, 2016, 2020).

The list of players to win three times includes:

Magic Johnson
Tim Duncan

Willis Reed, Kareem, Larry Bird, "The Dream", Kobe, Kevin Durant and Kawhi Leonard have all won the award twice.


In this day and age of parity in the league, it seems safe to say that nobody will ever break Michael Jordan's NBA Finals MVP record.

LeBron James certainly came close, as he has gone to the Finals 10 times and won the award four times, though time is likely running out for 'Bron to break (or even tie) the record.

Related Articles