Chicago Blackhawks, Boston Bruins Two Current Favourites To Win Trophy

Published on October 5th, 2014 5:16 pm EST
The NHL's Presidents' Trophy is awarded to the team that manages to finish the regular season with the greatest number of points.

Previous winners of the trophy include:

2013-14 Boston Bruins
2012-13 Chicago Blackhawks
2011-12 Vancouver Canucks
2010-11 Vancouver Canucks
2009-10 Washington Capitals

The team that wins the Presidents' Trophy is certainly not assured of a long postseason run or a Stanley Cup. As a matter of fact, only one of the Presidents' Trophy winners over the past five years (Chicago Blackhawks) has gone on to win the Stanley Cup.

The fact is that many teams step up their games in the postseason, and a team that has outperformed its peers during the regular season may suddenly find itself out of gas or in sudden alignment with other teams.


Let's take a look at the teams with the best five odds of winning the Presidents' Trophy this season:

Chicago Blackhawks, 6.00
Boston Bruins, 7.00
Los Angeles Kings, 7.00
Pittsburgh Penguins, 8.00
Anaheim Ducks, 9.00

The teams with the worst odds of winning the Presidents' Trophy are:

New York Islanders, 101.00
Calgary Flames, 151.00
Carolina Hurricanes, 151.00
Buffalo Sabres, 201.00
Florida Panthers, 201.00


Who do you think will win the President's Trophy this season? Will it be one of the top teams listed or will somebody surprise us all?

Related Articles