Australian Open - Betting Odds, History, Favourites and Past Winners

Tournament Details:

Date: 2025.01.12 - 2025.01.26
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Sport: Tennis
Surface: Plexicushion
Total Prize Money: AUD $76.5M

The Australian Open Tennis tournament is the first of the four Grand Slams held annually. It is held at the start of the year and is followed by French Open, Wimbledon Open, and US Open. The tournament has a rich history, great prestige, and a huge fanbase, as it is the biggest tennis competition in the hemisphere.

The first of the tennis grand slam tournaments takes place in Melbourne, Australia.  Consider betting on it, while exercising financial prudence.History:

The Australian Open Tennis tournament was first held in 1905. Back then, it was called the Australasian Championships. It was renamed to Australian Open in 1969. It is also called the Happy Tournament, as it is held during the southern summer. It has been held in different parts of Australia and New Zealand over the years. However, Melbourne has hosted the most number of editions of the Australian Open. 110 editions of the tournament have been held so far, with the only interruptions coming during World War II.

Location and Venue:

The tournament has been held in Melbourne since 1972, with the Melbourne Park Sports Venue being the host since 1988.


Over the years, the competition has been held on different court surfaces. Between 1905 and 1987, it was held on grass courts. However, the tournament switched to Hard Court Surfaces in 1988. Thus the Australian Open matches are held on hard outdoor courts.


Australian Open is a Calendar-year Grand Slam and features competition in the singles and doubles categories for both men and women. Moreover, it also features matches in the mixed doubles category. Other competition categories at the Australian Open include the Junior's championship, wheelchair competition, Legends league, and Exhibition events.

Current Champion:

22-year-old Jannik Sinner won his first major final, defeating Daniil Medvedev 3-2 in sets to claim the Australian Open title in Melbourne.

Past Winners:

Men's Singles:

Novak Djokovic:

Novak Djokovic holds the record for winning the Australian Open tennis tournament the most times. He has won 10 editions of the Australian Open, with victories coming in 2008, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016, 2019, 2020, 2021 and 2023.

Roy Emerson and Roger Federer:

Roger Federer won the Australian Open 6 times, with title-winning campaigns in 2004, 2006, 2007, 2010, 2017, and 2018.

Roy Emerson also won 6 titles in 1961, 1963, 1964, 1965, 1966, and 1967. However, all his titles came in the amateur era.

Women's Singles:

Margaret Smith:

In the women's singles category, Margaret Smith holds the record with 11 Australian Open titles in 1960, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1964, 1965, 1966, 1969, 1970, 1971, and 1973.

Serena Williams:

Serena Williams is the second most successful tennis player, with 7 titles in the women's singles category. Her titles came in 2003, 2005, 2007, 2009, 2010, 2015, and 2017.

Men's Doubles:

Bob Bryan and Mike Bryan have won 6 titles in the men's doubles category in the open era. Prior to them, Adrian Quist won 10 titles in the pre-open era.

Women's Doubles:

In the women's doubles category, Thelma Coye Long won 12 editions of the Australian Open tournament in the pre-open era.

In the open era, the record belongs to Martina Navratilova, who won 8 titles. Out of these 8 titles, she won 7 titles with Pam Shriver between 1982 and 1989.

Australian Open 2024:

The 2024 Australian Open tennis tournament will take place from January 15th to 28th.


View more Tennis Tournaments