Peyton Manning Last Player To Accomplish Feat

Published on December 23rd, 2021 10:39 am EST
Written By: Dave Manuel

Aaron Rodgers of the Green Bay Packers is the favourite for this years NFL MVP award. Aaron Rodgers is currently the front-runner to win the 2021 NFL MVP award, as he moved past Tom Brady in the race this past weekend.

If Rodgers wins the award this year, he will enter a very small club, as he will become one of just a handful of players to have ever won the award in back-to-back years.

Winning back-to-back MVP awards has been accomplished a number of times in the past, though the players that have done this are obviously a very small group.

Here they are:

Jim Brown - 1957, 1958
Brett Favre - 1995, 1996, 1997
Joe Montana - 1989, 1990
Peyton Manning (2x) - 2003, 2004 and 2008, 2009

All of the non-active multiple time winners of the MVP award have been inducted into the Hall of Fame, and Aaron Rodgers will certainly be no different.


Peyton Manning was the last player to accomplish the task of winning in back-to-back seasons.

Tom Brady, surprisingly enough, has never accomplished the task, despite winning the award three times.

Steve Young and Kurt Warner didn't win the award in back-to-back years, though they both managed to win two times over the course of three years.


If Aaron Rodgers wins the award in 2021, he would become just the second player - behind Peyton Manning, who has won the award five times - to win the MVP award four times.

One last interesting note - the only non-QB to ever win the MVP award in back-to-back years was Jim Brown of the Cleveland Browns.

Related Articles