Turkish Grand Prix - Betting Odds, Event Details, History and Records

Date: Not scheduled for 2024
Contest: F1
Location: Istanbul Park Circuit, Turkey

The Turkish Grand Prix is one of the few Formula One races in history that have not been held on a regular basis but still have led to a great response. Turkish Grand Prix appeared on the formula one calendar in 2020 and 2021 before missing out during the 2022 Formula One World Championship. Now, the race is in contention for a return to the Formula One calendar in 2023.

Sebastian Vettel racing at the Turkish Grand Prix.  Bet on the popular event.History:

Turkish Grand Prix presented logistical challenges as Formula One teams had to ship their equipment by boat because of the location and landscape. In addition to the logistical challenges, financial disagreements have also been an issue at the Turkish Grand Prix.

The inaugural edition of the Turkish Grand Prix was held in 2005. Between 2005 and 2011, 7 consecutive editions of the Turkish Grand Prix were held. In 2011, a financial disagreement between Formula One and the Turkish government meant that the race did not return to Istanbul in 2012. Similarly, the Turkish government disapproved of the 2013 Turkish Grand Prix proposal due to high financial costs. Thus, the race was cornered for the rest of the decade.

In 2020 and 2021, the Turkish Grand Prix returned to the Formula One calendar to make up for the canceled and postponed races due to covid-19 restrictions.

Turkish Grand Prix was not a part of the 2022 Formula One Championship. However, the race is in contention to return to the 2023 season of the F1 Championship.


Over the years, the race has been held at the Istanbul Park Circuit. The total length of the formula one track is 5.338km, and there are 58 laps in total. This results in a total length of 309.396km.

Past Winners:

Felipe Massa:

The Brazilian racing car driver Felipe Massa holds the record for winning the Turkish Grand Prix most often. He won three consecutive editions of the Turkish Grand Prix between 2006 and 2008. Thus, securing the record for winning the most consecutive races at Istanbul Park.

Sir Lewis Hamilton:

The all-time great formula one driver, Sir Lewis Hamilton, is the only other driver to win the Turkish Grand Prix more than once. He won two editions of the Istanbul GP, with victories coming in 2010 and 2020.

Other Drivers:

Other drivers who have won the Turkish Grand Prix include Kimi Raikkonen, Jenson Button, Sebastian Vettel, and Valtteri Bottas.

Fastest Lap:

The record for the fastest lap at the Turkish Grand Prix belongs to Valtteri Bottas, who recorded a time of 1:30.432 while racing for Mercedes.


Among constructors, Ferrari has been the most successful team with three wins. They are followed by McLaren and Mercedes, whose cars have won two races each.

Engine Manufacturers:

Mercedes takes the lead with 5 victories among engine manufacturers. Mercedes-manufactured engines triumphed in 2005, 2009, 2010, 2020, and 2021. Ferrari won the Turkish GP thrice in 2006, 2007, and 2008.

Upcoming Edition of the Turkish Grand Prix - Will there be a Turkish Grand Prix in 2023?

Even though the Turkish Grand Prix is not part of the original Formula One calendar, there is a strong possibility of the Formula One race returning to Istanbul after the cancellation of the Chinese Grand Prix due to covid-19. Istanbul is in contention to make up for the canceled race. Therefore, the Turkish Grand Prix fans should keep their fingers crossed for the Turkish Grand Prix 2023.


View more Sporting Contests