NBA MVP Award Betting Odds

Date: 2024.06.TBA
Location: USA

NBA is the premier basketball competition in the world as hundreds of millions of fans tune in to watch the matches from different parts of the world. The best players in the world compete in the finest basketball league as NBA holds the status of being the Mecca in the world of basketball.

In photo:  Kareem Abdul Jabbar doing the hook shot.  NBA MVP Award history, winners and current favourites.  Bet on it!Four hundred fifty top basketball players compete in each season of the NBA. All these players compete with the target of winning the prestigious NBA trophy for their team. However, there is one other trophy that is not as big and as special as the NBA title trophy, but still holds great emotional significance and prestige. It is the Maurice Podoloff Trophy that is awarded to the Most Valuable Player in the NBA season. The best player from the season is given the NBA Most Valuable Player Award each year. The NBA MVP award was first introduced in the 1955-56 NBA season.


At the end of each season, the players' performances and statistics are analyzed and evaluated. A panel of sports journalists, writers, and experts votes for the top performers. This voting criteria gives the Most Valuable Player Award in the NBA.

This voting criterion was introduced in 1981. Prior to that, different players voted for the selection of the NBA MVP.

It is worth mentioning that every player who wins the NBA MVP award is eligible for the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

Past Winners of the Prestigious MVP Award:

Over the years, several players have won the glorious NBA MVP award multiple times. Here is a list of players who have been judged as the NBA MVPs the most number of times.

Kareem Abdul Jabbar:

The iconic basketball center Kareem Abdul Jabbar holds the record for winning the NBA MVP award most times. He won a total of 6 NBA MVP awards while playing for the Milwaukee Bucks and Los Angeles Lakers. He was judged the NBA MVP in 1971, 1972, 1974, 1976, 1977, and 1980.

Bill Russel:

Bill Russel has won the NBA MVP award 5 times. All 5 of his iconic performances came with Boston Celtics. He was the league's most valuable player in 1958, 1961, 1962, 1963, and 1965.

Michael Jordan:

The star basketball player and Chicago Bulls legend Michael Jordan has also won the NBA MVP award five times. His five awards came in 1988, 1991, 1992, 1996, and 1998.

Wilt Chamberlain:

Wilt Chamberlain holds a special record in the books of history as he was the first-ever player to win and become the most valuable player of the NBA in his rookie season. He won the NBA MVP award and the NBA rookie of the Year award in 1960. In addition to that, he also gave three consecutive MVP performances in the 1966,1967, and 1968 NBA seasons.

Lebron James:

Lebron James is the other player to win the NBA MVP award 4 times. His iconic performances were a feature of the 2009, 2010, 2012, and 2013 NBA seasons.

Current NBA MVP:

Joel Embiid, the Philadelphia 76ers center from Cameroon, won the award in 2023.

Nikola Jokic from Serbia was the winner the two previous seasons.


View more Sporting Contests