Indianapolis 500 - Betting Odds, Event Details, History and Records

Date: 2025.05.25
Contest: INDYCAR
Location: IMS, Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Indianapolis 500 is one of the most iconic and historic automobile racing competitions in the history of car racing in America. The race falls in the category of IndyCar Series in America. The Indycar series is the premier Open-wheel car racing competition in America.

Indianapolis 500 indy car racing betting.  One of the most historic and popular races in the world.  In photo: Two cars going at it on the IMS, Indianapolis Motor Speedway.Indianapolis 500:

Indianapolis 500 is commonly known as the Indy 500 and operates on an annual basis. As the name suggests, the race has a total length of 500 miles and is conducted at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.


Prior to the Indianapolis 500, the IMS circuit hosted a number of smaller events that attracted a considerable number of fans and audiences. As the audiences grew, the first 500 competition was held in 1911 on Decoration Day. Initially, it had the name 500-mile International Sweepstakes.

In 2011, the competition celebrated its 100th anniversary with glorious celebrations. The only interruptions in the competition's history came during world war-1 and world war-2.

During certain time periods, the race has remained a part of the FIA World Championships.

Location and Circuit:

The race is conducted at the IMS, Indianapolis Motor Speedway. The total length of the circuit is about 2.5 miles, with 4 turns along its length. In total, there are 200 laps in the Indianapolis 500 race.

It is worth mentioning that the Indianapolis Motor Speedway circuit is made of asphalt.

Triple Crown of Motorsport:

Indianapolis 500 is one of America's most iconic and prestigious car racing competitions and is part of the triple crown of Motorsport. The other two jewels in the triple crown of Motorsport are the 24 Hours of Le Mans and the Monaco Grand Prix.

The Indianapolis 500 race is often marketed as the Greatest Spectacle in Racing since it is the marquee IndyCar racing event.

2024 Champion:

Josef Newgarden, an American driver for Team Penske, won the 2024 edition of the Indianapolis 500. He also won it in 2023.

Past Winners:

Over the years, a number of drivers have won the Indianapolis 500 series multiple times. The list of most successful drivers at the Indianapolis 500 includes the following:

Helio Castroneves:

Castroneves has been the most successful driver in the history of the Indianapolis 500. He shares the record with three other drivers and has won the Indianapolis 500 race on 4 occasions across three separate decades. He won his first Indianapolis 500 race in 2001, while his most recent victory came in 2021. In the middle, he also won the race in 2002 and 2009.

A.J. Foyt:

The American former racing car driver won the Indianapolis 500 races in 1961, 1964, 1967, and 1977. He was the first driver to win the race four times.

AI Unser:

Unser is another name that has won the race four times, with victories coming in 1970, 1971, 1978, and 1987.

Rick Mears:

Rick Mears has been a particularly successful racing car driver in the Indianapolis 500's history. The three-time Indy Car world champion has won the Indianapolis 500 title 4 times while also being the record holder in the race for pole positions with 6 pole positions.


On a team level, Team Penske has won the Indianapolis 500 race on a stunning 18 occasions. Their victories came in 1972, 1979, 1981, 1984, 1985, 1987, 1988, 1991, 1993, 1994, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2006, 2009, 2015, 2018, and 2019. Other than them, Andretti Autosport has won the race 6 times, with victories coming in 1995, 2005, 2007, 2014, 2016, and 2017.

Car Make:

Dallara-made cars have won the Indianapolis 500 races 22 times, with an unbeaten run since 2005. Moreover, Penske's cars won the races 7 times.

Engine Manufacturers:

Among Engine Manufacturers, Offenhauser's engines have won the Indianapolis 500 title 27 times, while Honda's engines emerged victorious 15 times. Other leading manufacturers include Miller, Chevrolet, Ford, Peugeot, and Mercedes-Benz.

2025 Indianapolis 500:

The Indianapolis 500 race will take place on May 25th, 2025.


View more Sporting Contests