Grande Premio de Sao Paulo - Betting Odds, Event Details, History and Records

Date: 2024.10.31 - 2024.11.03
Contest: F1
Location: Interlagos Circuit

The Brazilian Grand Prix is an annual car racing event that is held in Sao Paulo under the name of the Sao Paulo Grand Prix. Though Brazilians have traditionally been a football-loving nation, automobile racing in Brazil dates back to the times of World War II.

The F1 race in Sao Paulo - Ferrari has the most wins so far.2023 Winner:

Max Verstappen won his 17th season win at the Sao Paulo Grand Prix, with Lando Norris finishing second. Fernando Alonso narrowly secured the third spot on the podium after an intense fight with Sergio Perez.

History of Sao Paulo Grand Prix:

The Inaugural Sao Paulo Grand Prix was held in 1972 at Interlagos. This race did not contain any points for the Formula One Championship. However, the race was conducted as a test case to check the capability of organizers and Interlagos Racing Circuit. In 1978, the Grand Prix moved to the Rio de Janeiro Circuit before reverting back to the Interlagos circuit in 1990. Since then, the race has been regularly held at the Interlagos Circuit. However, there were rumors of shifting the race to Rio de Janeiro again.


As per the current contract, the Brazilian Grand Prix will continue at the Sao Paulo Circuit till 2025. That's why it is also called Sao Paulo Grand Prix.


The Sao Paulo Grand Prix is held at Interlagos Circuit, which was reconstructed in 1990 to improve the standards. The circuit has a length of 4.309 km, while the total length of the Grand Prix is 305.879 km. In total, there are 71 laps at the Sao Paulo Grand Prix.

Past Winners:


Alain Prost:

The French racing car driver Alain Prost has been the most successful driver at the Sao Paulo Grand Prix. He has won it 6 times, which is the most for an F1 driver. He won the races in 1982, 1984, 1985, 1987, 1988, and 1990.

Carlos Reutemann and Michael Schumacher:

The Argentinian racing car driver Carlos Reutemann and the all-time great Michael Schumacher have been fairly successful at the Sao Paulo Grand Prix. Both have won the Prix four times. Reutemann won it in 1972, 1977, 1978, and 1981. On the other hand, Schumacher tased victories in 1994, 1995, 2000, and 2002.

Sebastian Vettel:

Sebastian Vetter has been pretty successful on the Brazilian tracks. He has won the Sao Paulo Grand Prix three times. His victories came in 2010, 2013, and 2017.

Lewis Hamilton:

The 7-time formula one champion, Sir Lewis Hamilton, has won the Sao Paulo Grand Prix 3 times. He won it in 2016, 2018, and 2021.


Among constructors, McLaren has been the most successful team in the Sao Paulo Grand Prix. McLaren won the Prix on a record 11 occasions. Their victories have been spread over 5 decades, with successful years being 1974, 1984, 1985, 1987, 1988, 1991, 1993, 1998, 1999, 2001, 2005, and 2012. Ferrari has also had a similar record with 11 wins. Their victories as constructors came in 1976, 1977, 1978, 1989, 1990, 2000, 2002, 2006, 2007, 2008, and 2017. The British constructor Williams won it 6 times.

In recent years, Red Bull and Mercedes have dominated the Sao Paulo Grand Prix. Both won 5 times as constructors. Red Bull's victories came in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2013, and 2019 while Mercedes won it in 2014, 2015, 2016, 2018, and 2021.

Engine Manufacturers:

As far as Engine Manufacturers are concerned, Ferrari has been the most successful with 11 wins. Both Mercedes and Renault have won 10 times, while Ford has been successful in 9 events.

Fastest Lap:

The record for the fastest Lap at the Sao Paulo Grand Prix belongs to the Mexican automobile racer Sergio Perez who registered a time of 1:11.010 with Red Bull's car having a Honda engine.

2024 Sao Paulo Grand Prix:

The 2022 Sao Paulo Grand Prix is scheduled over the weekend between 3rd and 5th of November 2024


View more Sporting Contests