CONMEBOL Copa America - Betting Odds, Event Details, History and Records

Date: 2024.06.20 - 2024.07.14
Contest: SOCCER
Location: United States of America

Click Here to Bet on Copa America


Latest Odds Available Here

Football is the most followed and played sport in the world. From the forests of Australia to the deserts of the middle east and from the flamboyance of Europe to the carnivals of Africa, football is a regular feature of every culture, society, and segment. Each continent has its own premier football competition, which decides the ultimate football champion of that region. Copa America is one such glorious competition that invites the national football teams in South America.

In photo:  Lionel Messi, Argentina number 10, at the Copa America tournament.History:

CONMEBOL is the official governing body for football events in South America and has 10 official members. Football grew and expanded in the region in the mid-19th century. In the early 1900s, a number of football competitions took place between different South American teams.

The inaugural edition of Copa America took place in 1916 as Argentina, Chile, Uruguay, and Brazil came together for the centennial celebration of Argentina. Following the event's great success, the South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL) was formed. The following year, the competition was held in Uruguay. That's how Copa America became a regular fixture of the international calendar. The competition continued in the following years. However, certain issues and conflicts halted its progress. It was only in 1986 that CONMEBOL took the initiative to restructure the competition and make it a regular appearance on the event calendar.


The 10 members of CONMEBOL are all eligible to participate in Copa America. The members include Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, and Venezuela.

In addition to the 10 CONMEBOL members, different countries have participated in the competition as invitees. These include Mexico, Costa Rica, the United States, Jamaica, Japan, Honduras, Panama, Qatar, and Haiti.


Different members of CONMEBOL have hosted Copa America over the years. Argentina has hosted the most number of editions, with the 9 Copa America Competition being held in Argentina. Similarly, Chile and Uruguay have hosted 7 editions, while Brazil and Peru served as the hosts for 6 editions of Copa America.

Past Winners:

Over the years, Argentina, Uruguay, and Brazil have been the most successful teams in the history of Copa America. Argentina and Uruguay share the record for the most number of Copa America titles with 15 wins.


Argentina won a total of 15 Copa America Titles in 1921, 1925, 1927, 1929, 1937, 1941, 1945, 1946, 1947, 1955, 1957, 1959, 1991, 1993, and 2021. They are also the reigning champions of Copa America as they won the 2021 edition of Copa America. In addition to winning 15 titles, Argentina also finished second in 14 editions of Copa America.


Uruguay has also won the Copa America Title 15 times, with their recent title coming in 2011. They also had the honor of being the first champions of Copa America as they won the inaugural edition in 1916.


Despite being the powerhouse of global football, Brazil has not won as many Copa America Titles as one would expect them to. They have won a total of 9 titles while finishing second on 12 editions. Their most recent final appearance came in 2021 when they lost to Argentina in the all-important final.

Paraguay, Chile, and Peru:

Paraguay, Chile, and Peru have won two Copa America titles each.

Bolivia and Colombia:

Bolivia and Colombia are the only other teams to win Copa America, as they won their respective titles in 1963 and 2001.

Current Champion:


2024 Copa America:

The upcoming edition of Copa America will be held in the United States of America.


View more Sporting Contests