Austrian Grand Prix - Betting Odds, Event Details, History and Records

Date: 2024.06.28 - 2024.06.30
Contest: F1
Location: Red Bull Ring, Spielberg

Formula 1 Rolex Grosser Preis von Osterreich, also known as the Austrian Grand Prix, is one of those Grand Prix that has been a part of the Formula One Calendar for quite some time but have had breaks and pauses in between.

Bet on the Formula 1 Austrian Grand Prix event.  In photo: Alexander Wurz in his machine.2024 Betting Odds:

After winning his 5th race of the season in a row at the Red Bull Ring in 2023, Max Verstappen is at the very top of his game. It will be interesting to see if he is the overwhelming favourite again a year from now, when the betting odds are posted for the event.

History and Origins:

The Inaugural edition of the Austrian Grand Prix was held in 1963. However, there were breaks between the 1987 and 1997 editions of the Austrian Grand Prix. Moreover, the Grand Prix was halted after the 2003 edition Formula One Championship. Later, the Premier event returned to the Formula One Calendar in 2014. Since then, it has been regularly held every year and has contributed some valuable points to the Formula One Championship table. Until now, a total of 41 editions of the Austrian Grand Prix have been held successfully.


The race has been held at two separate circuits over the years. The Austrian Grand Prix has been held at Spielberg since 1969.

Initially, it was conducted at Zeltweg Air Base for six years before moving to a permanent track named the Osterreichring.

The circuit was later renamed as A-Ring. However, sponsorship reasons led to a change in its name to Red Bull Ring.

The circuit has a total length of 4.318 km. There are a total of 71 laps in the Grand Prix. This results in a total length of 306.452km.

2023 Winner:

Max Verstappen was a dominant winner of the 2023 edition of the Austrian Grand Prix.

It will be interesting to see how the F1 deals with the race track in Austria after all the penalties were issued to the drivers including Lewis Hamilton and Carlos Sainz in 2023, due to cars driving outside of track limits.

Past Winners:

Over the past 41 editions, different drivers have won the Austrian Grand Prix. Jo Siffert, Alain Prost, and Max Verstappen have been the most successful drivers in the Austrian Grand Prix. All 3 have won the Grand Prix three times.

Jo Siffert:

The Swiss national racing car driver was among the earliest winners of the Austrian Grand Prix. His three titles came in 1968, 1969, and 1971.

Allain Prost:

Allain Prost was a French Formula One driver who dominated the F1 Championships during the 1980s. He won the Austrian Grand Prix thrice, winning it in 1983, 1985, and 1986.

Max Verstappen:

Max Verstappen has been the most successful racing car driver at the Austrian Grand Prix in recent years. He won the competition in 2018, 2019, 2021 and 2023.

Fastest Lap:

Max Verstappen holds the record for the fastest lap at the Austrian Grand Prix as he registered a time of 1:07.275 while racing for Red Bull Racing Team.

Michael Schumacher:

Michael Schumacher, the all-time great and 7-time Formula One World Champion, won the Austrian Grand Prix twice. His two victories were consecutive, as he won the 2002 and 2003 editions of the Austrian Grand Prix.

Other Names:

Other drivers who have won the Austrian Grand Prix twice include Ronnie Peterson, Alan Jones, Mika Hakkinen, Nico Rosberg, and Valtteri Bottas.


Among Constructors, Ferrari has been the most successful team, with 7 wins in 1964, 1965, 1970, 1999, 2002, 2003, and 2022. McLaren has won it 6 times (1984, 1985, 1986, 1998, 2000, and 2001), while Mercedes has dominated the Grand Prix in recent years with 5 wins that included 4 consecutive years of success between 2014 and 2017.


Ford has won the Austrian Grand Prix 10 times as it dominated the Austrian Grand Prix during the 1970s. Ford's victories came in 1967, 1972, 1973, 1974, 1975, 1976, 1977, 1978, 1979, and 1982. On the other hand, Mercedes won the GP 8 times (1998, 2000, 2001, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, and 2020).


View more Sporting Contests