PDC World Darts Championship - Betting Odds, Tournament History, Past Winners and Favourites

Click Here To Bet on PDC World Darts Championship


For many people around the world, playing darts is just a fun activity that provides recreation and refreshes one's mind. However, Darts is actually a competitive sport that features matches on various scales. The biggest competition in the world of Darts is PDC World Darts Championship. It is the annual global championship of dart throwing in which the best players of darts compete.

PDC World Darts Championship is the biggest annual global darts tournament.  Bet on it!Sport and History:

It is commonly called Dart throwing, as the players throw the darts at a specific target and calculate their scores depending on the accuracy of their throws. The first-ever world darts championship was held in 1994, two years after the formation of the Professional Darts Corporation. Professional Darts Corporation organizes a number of global darts competitions with the help, assistance, and support of the World Darts Federation (WDF). Professional Darts Corporation organizes the PDC World Darts Championship every year.

The competition's inaugural edition was organized by some leading players from the world of darts, who formed their separate governing body, PDC, after parting their ways with the World Darts Federation. In a way, the competition had started as a rebel tournament but soon took over the world of darts as the marquee event in the sport.


Since 2008, the championship has been held at the Alexandra Palace, London. Prior to that, the competition was held at the Circus Tavern in Purfleet Essex between 1994 and 2007.
One of the reasons behind the incredible success of the competition is that it is held in London, the hub of sports in England. As a result, all the top players and die-hard fans travel to the heart of England for the premier dart-throwing competition.

Prize Money:

The total prize money at the 2022 PDC World Darts Championship was £2.5 million, with the winner receiving £500,000 while the player finishing second got £200,000.

Past Winners:

Over the years, 6 different players have won the PDC World Championship multiple times. However, none of them has been as dominant and emphatic in his performances as Phil Taylor.

Phil Taylor:

The British dart thrower Phil Taylor has been the most accurate dart thrower that the sport has ever seen. The great man has won the PDC World Championship 14 times with a total of 19 appearances in the finals of the PDC World Championship. With that, he holds the record for most titles and most finals in the history of the competition. His records also include 8 consecutive titles between 1995 and 2002. He has also won the BDO World Darts Championship twice. This makes him the finest player in the history of the sport.

Michael van Gerwen:

Michael van Gerwen is a Dutch dart thrower who has won the PDC World Championship three times. His three victories came in 2014, 2017, and 2019.

Other winners:

Gary Anderson, Adrian Lewis, John Part, and Peter Wright have all won the PDC World Darts Championship twice. Other than them, Dennis Priestley, Raymond van Barneveld, Rob Cross, and Gerwyn Price have all won the championship once.

2022-2023 PDC World Darts Championship:

The upcoming World Darts Championship is scheduled to take place between 15th December 2022 and 3rd January 2023 at the Alexandra Palace, London.