MLS Cup - Betting Odds, Event Details, History and Records

Date: 2024.12.TBA
Contest: Soccer
Location: The team with more points in regular season hosts the final match.

The MLS Cup is the annual championship match of Major League Soccer (MLS), which is the top professional soccer league in the United States and Canada.

The MLS Cup is the premier soccer / football club tournament in the USA and Canada.Major League Soccer began play in 1996, and the MLS Cup was established as the league's championship match from its first season.

2023 Winner:

The Columbus Crew won the 2023 championship, beating Los Angeles FC in the final to secure their third title. At the beginning of the playoffs, their winning odds were set at +1100.

MLS Cup 2023 Betting Odds:

This is what the odds looked like leading up to the playoffs:

Source: Bet365
Time Stamp: October 11th, 2023 6:13 pm EST
Odds Subject to Change

FC Cincinnati +333
LAFC +600
St. Louis City SC +800
Ornaldo City SC +1000
Columbus Crew +1100
Philadelphia Union +1100
New England Revolution +1200
Seattle Sounders FC +1600
Nashville SC +1800
Real Salt Lake +1800
Atlanta United +2500
Houston Dynamo +2500
Vancouver Whitecaps +2500
Portland Timbers +4000


Teams compete throughout the regular MLS season to qualify for the playoffs, which ultimately lead to the MLS Cup. The format of the playoffs and the number of teams that qualify have varied over the years as the league has expanded.

Unlike many other soccer leagues around the world, which determine the champion based on regular season standings, MLS uses a playoff system to decide its champion, culminating in the MLS Cup match. The venue for the MLS Cup was pre-determined (similar to the Super Bowl in American football) up until 2011. Since 2012, the team taking part in the final with the better regular-season record has earned the right to host the Cup.

The winner of the MLS Cup is widely recognized as the season's league champion. This is distinct from the team that finishes the regular season with the most points, which is awarded the Supporters' Shield. The MLS Cup winner also earns a spot in the CONCACAF Champions League, the premier club competition in North and Central America and the Caribbean.


The winner of the MLS Cup is awarded the Philip F. Anschutz Trophy, named after one of the league's founders and owners.


Since its inception, MLS has seen significant expansion. New franchises have been added, and the league has grown in terms of popularity, attendance, and overall quality.


View more Sporting Contests