Rio Open Tennis Tournament - Betting, Odds, History and Past Champions

Tournament Details:

Date: 2025.02. TBA
Location: Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Sport: Tennis
Surface: Clay
Total Prize Money: $2,178,980

Rio Open is the biggest tennis tournament in the whole of South America. The inaugural edition of the Rio Open was held in 2014, the same year when Rio de Janeiro hosted the FIFA World Cup.

Rio Open tennis tournament is a tennis tournament that hosts men's singles and doubles matches. Earlier, the event hosted WTA international tournament for Women.

The professional tennis elite come to Rio de Janeiro every year to compete at the Rio Open.  Betting on the winner is available.Status:

On the ATP World Tour, Rio Open is conducted as an ATP 500 Series featuring singles and doubles matches. It is the only ATP 500 World Series event held in South America. Since 2020, it has been the only ATP Tour event in Brazil


In the past, Rio de Janeiro hosted the Rio de Janeiro Open with indoor carpet courts in 1989 and 1990. This was the first occasion of an ATP World Series being played in Brazil.

In 2014, the inaugural edition of the Rio Open was hosted with matches for both Men and Women. Hungarian Ladies Open replaced the WTA event after 2016.

Courts and Location:

Jockey Club Brasileiro hosts the tournament in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

Since its inception, it has been played on clay courts. The inaugural edition attracted two masters of clay courts, Rafael Nadal, and David Ferrer. Nadal won the first edition, while Ferrer won the tournament's second edition.

There have been plans to shift the event to hard outdoor courts in the Olympic Tennis Centre. The move aims to attract more world-class players like Djokovic and Murray, who have declined to play in the event because of clay courts. Let's see if that shift occurs anytime soon.

Current Champion:

Sebastian Baez beat Mariano Navone with scores of 6-2, 6-1 in the final to claim the singles tennis championship at the 2024 Rio Open. This victory marked his fifth ATP Tour title.

Past Winners:

Men's Singles:

No player has ever won the Rio Open twice in the Men's Singles Category. Rafael Nadal was the first winner of the Rio Open. Since then, David Ferrer, Pablo Cuevas, Dominic Thiem, Diego Schwartzman, Laslo Dere, Cristian Garin, and Carlos Alcaraz have won the Rio Open.

The 2023 Rio Open winner - Cameron Norrie from the United Kingdom.Cameron Norrie won the Rio Open in 2023 by defeating Carlos Alcaraz in the event final. He collected $376,620 in prize money.

The current world number 1 Carlos Alcaraz won the 2022 edition of the tournament by beating Diego Schwartzman in the final with a score of 6-4 and 6-2.

Men's Doubles:

In the doubles category, the Colombian duo of Juan Sebastian Cabal and Robert Farah has won the Rio Open twice. They won the tournament in 2014 and 2016. They also qualified for the finals of the 2017 edition but lost to Pablo Carreno Busta and Pablo Cuevas.

The Italian pair of Simone Bolelli and Fabio Fognini won the 2022 edition of the Rio Open in the doubles category. They defeated Jamie Murray and Bruno Soares in a closely contested final. The scoreline read 7-5, 6-7(2-7), and [10-6].

Women's Events:

The women's singles titles were won by Kurumi Naraq, Sara Errani, and Francesca Schiavone in 2014, 2015, and 2016 respectively.

Irina-Camelia Begu and Maria Irigoyen won in the doubles category in 2014, Ysaline Bonaventure and Rebecca Peterson in 2015, and the duo of Veronica Cepede Royg and Maria Irigoyen won in 2016.


View more Tennis Tournaments