Next Generation ATP Finals - History, Past Winners, Favourites and Betting Odds

Tournament Details:

Date: 2024.11.TBA
Location: TBD
Sport: Tennis
Surface: Hard Indoor court
Total Prize Money: $2,000,000

Like any other Sport, Tennis also has age-group tournaments to encourage young players to take up the sport and gain much-needed exposure before debuting at the highest level. These include juniors level events that ATP and ITF conduct. Among these events, Next Generation ATP Finals remains a significant competition.

The Next Generation ATP Finals tournament feature the best tennis players of the upcoming generation.  Betting on matches is available.Next Generation ATP Finals:

The next Generation ATP Finals is an age group tournament allowing young players aged 21 or less to compete for the youth championship. It is an annual exhibition tournament played towards the end of the year. It is not an official ATP tour tournament and does not influence the ranking points.

2023 Champion:

Hamad Medjedovic from Serbia won the Next Generation ATP Finals in 2023, as he defeated Arthur Fils from France in the tournament final.


ATP, the Italian Tennis Federation, and the Italian Olympic Committee jointly organized the inaugural Next Gen ATP Finals. The first tournament was held in 2017. Until now, four editions have been held, with Milan serving as the host for all four of the tournaments.

Courts and Venue:

The tournament is played on Hard Indoor courts at Allianz Cloud Arena in Milan. The 2022 ATP Next Generation Finals are also scheduled to take place in Milan.

Format and Qualifications:

8 Top Players play at the Next Gen ATP Finals. These include the top 7 players in the Emirates ATP Race to Milan rankings, while the eighth slot is awarded for a wild-card entry. The wild card entry is decided after a qualifying tournament.

These 8 players compete in two separate groups, with the top 2 players from each group qualifying for the semi-finals.

Past Winners:

Over the past four years, four different players have won the ATP Next Gen Finals. The details of the winners are as follows:

Chung Hyeon - 2017 ATP Next Gen Finals:

At the 2017 ATP Next Gen Finals, the young Korean Player Chung Hyeon won the title after defeating the Russian Andrey Rublev with the score line of 3-4(5-7), 4-3(7-2), 4-2, and 4-2.

Stefanos Tsitsipas - 2018 ATP Next Gen Finals:

Tsitsipas has been praised as the next big thing for quite some time now. One of his prominent performances was his triumph at the 2018 ATP Next Gen Finals when he won against the Australian Alex De Minaur.

Jannik Sinner - 2019 ATP Next Gen Finals:

Alex De Minaur qualified for the final of the ATP Next Gen Finals 2019. However, he missed out on the title again as he lost to the Italian Tennis player Jannik Sinner in the final. The score line read 4-2, 4-1, and 4-2 in favor of the Italian.

The 2020 edition of the tournament was canceled.

The 2021 ATP Next Generation Finals saw the next big Spanish thing Carlos Alcaraz dominate the event as he won against Sebastian Korda in the final. It was a great stepping stone for the young Alcaraz as he added to his trophy cabinet with the prestigious US Open Title in 2022. Daniil Medvedev is the only other player who graduated from the ATP Next Generation Finals and went on to win a Grand Slam Title.

Brandon Nakashima - 2022 winner

Hamad Medjedovic - 2023 winner


View more Tennis Tournaments