ICC Champions Trophy - Betting Odds, Event Details, History and Records

Date: 2025 TBA
Contest: CRICKET
Location: Pakistan

The ICC Champions Trophy is the second biggest Cricketing Competition in the One-Day Format and features 8 top ODI Teams. Because of its prestigious nature, top-quality cricket, and historic significance, it is also called a Mini-World Cup.


Back in the 1990s, ICC Cricket World Cup was the only major cricketing event in the world. In an attempt to expand the game and grow its revenue streams, ICC came up with plans for the ICC knockout Cup.

The Inaugural edition of the ICC knockout Cup was held in 1998. Bangladesh and Kenya were the joint hosts for the inaugural event. This was the only edition of the competition that featured a knock-out format, as the teams played virtual quarterfinals, semi-finals, and finals.

In 2002, the tournament switched to a more inclusive round-robin format and was renamed and rebranded as the ICC Champions Trophy. Initially, it was held after every two years (till 2006). However, in 2009, it switched to a four-year period.

Mini World Cup:

Though it is called a Mini World Cup, the two contests have some stark differences. Champions Trophy features a lot lesser number of matches and is easily held over a period of two and a half weeks. Moreover, the competition invites only the top 8 teams. Thus, the overall standard of cricket is relatively better.

Past Winners:

Over the years, a number of Teams have won the prestigious ICC Champions Trophy.


No other team in the history of Sport has ever been as dominant as the Australian Team of the 2000s. Australia holds the record for winning the most Champions Trophy Titles. So far, they have won two editions of the ICC Champions Trophy. Their victories came in 2006 and 2009, as they became the only team in the history of the game to win two consecutive ICC Champions Trophy Titles.


India is another side that has won two ICC Champions Trophy Titles. However, their first title was a shared win. In 2002, India shared the ICC Champions Trophy with Sri Lanka because of excessive rainfall in the final. In 2013, India won its second ICC Champions Trophy Title under the leadership of legendary MS Dhoni.

South Africa, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, and West Indies:

South Africa, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, and West Indies have all won the ICC Champions Trophy once. South Africa was the first team to win ICC Champions Trophy as they won the inaugural edition. On the other hand, New Zealand won the title in 2000, Sri Lanka in 2002, and West Indies won in 2004.

Reigning Champion - Pakistan:

Pakistan is the Reigning Champions of the ICC Champions Trophy as they won the 2017 edition of the ICC Champions Trophy with a thumping win over the arch-rivals India in the final of the competition.

Record Leaders:

Among Batsmen, the West Indian giant Chris Gayle leads the records with 791 runs. On the other hand, Kyle Mills has been the leading bowler in the tournament's history with 28 wickets.

Upcoming Edition - ICC Champions Trophy 2025:

The upcoming edition of the ICC Champions Trophy is scheduled to be held in 2025. Pakistan will host ICC Champions Trophy 2025 in September and October. The official schedule has not been announced yet.

Considering the natural beauty and aesthetically pleasing terrain of the country, it will be a great opportunity for the Cricketing fans and supporters from around the world to visit the country.


View more Sporting Contests