Daytona 500 - Betting Odds, Event Details, History and Records

Date: 2025.02.16
Contest: NASCAR
Location: Daytona International Speedway in Daytona Beach, Florida, United States

Daytona 500 is one of the major stock-car races on the NASCAR Cup Series Calendar held on an annual basis. The race is one of the oldest Stock Car Races in America and dates back to 1959. It also holds the honor of being the first of the two Cup races annually held in Daytona (the other event is Coke Zero Sugar 400).

Daytona 500 is one of the most famous sporting events in the world.  Bet on the NASCAR race.Location:

The race is held at Daytona International Speedway in Daytona Beach, Florida, United States. The circuit in Daytona has an asphalt surface with a total length of 2.5 miles, and 4 turns along its length.

In total, there are 200 laps in Daytona 500. As a result, the race's total length becomes 500 miles. The total length of the race and its location are the reasons that the race is called Daytona 500.

2024 Winner:

In 2024, William Byron, an American driver, won the race driving the No. 24 Chevrolet Camaro ZL1 for Hendrick Motorsports.

History and Naming:

Prior to Daytona 500, the competition was held as a 200-mile race with Stock Cars at Daytona Beach Road Course. The inaugural edition of the Daytona 500 was held in 1959 at the Daytona International Speedway. The inaugural edition of the Daytona 500 was named the Inaugural 500 Mile International Sweepstakes. Similarly, the second edition of the race was named Second Annual 500 Mile International Sweepstakes.

Since 1961, Daytona 500 has been the official name of the Stock Car Race.

For most of the race's history, it was considered official once half of it had been completed (100 laps). However, rules were changed to make it official after the second stage (120 laps).

Past Winners:


Richard Petty:

Among Drivers, Richard Petty, who has been nicknamed "The King" for his domination in Stock Car Racing, dominated Daytona 500 by winning 7 races between 1964 and 1981. His victories came in 1964, 1966, 1971, 1973, 1974, 1979, and 1981. Petty was most famous for driving the number 43 Plymouth for Petty Enterprises.

Calle Yarborough:

Cale Yarborough has been one of the most successful NASCAR Cup Racers, who has had the great honor of winning three consecutive NASCAR Championships.

He won 4 titles at the Daytona 500 in 1968, 1977, 1983, and 1984.

Jeff Gordon:

The fine-stock car driver from Hendricks Motorsports has enjoyed significant success at the Daytona 500 by winning three titles at the competition in 1997, 1999, and 2005.

Denny Hamlin:

Denny Hamlin has been particularly successful at the Daytona 500 in the past few years, as he won three races in 2016, 2019, and 2020.

Dale Jarret and bobby Allison:

Dale Jarret and Bobby Allison are the other two stock car racers who have won three editions of the Daytona 500. Allison won in 1978, 1982, and 1988 while Jarrett won in 1993, 1996, and 2000.

Ricky Stenhouse Jr., driving the No. 47 JTG Daugherty Kroger / Cottonelle Chevrolet Camaro, won the event in 2023.


Among Teams, Petty Enterprises has been the most successful side, with 9 wins at the Daytona 500. Their victories came in 1959, 1964, 1966, 1970, 1971, 1973, 1974, 1979, and 1981. On the other hand, Hendrick Motorsports has won 8 editions of the Daytona 500, winning it in 1986, 1989, 1997, 1999, 2005, 2006, 2013, and 2014. Wood Brothers Racing has been the third most successful side, with 5 wins in 1963, 1968, 1972, 1976, and 2011. Joe Gibbs Racing's success has largely resulted from Denny Hamlin's victories in 2016, 2019, and 2020.

Manufacturers - Ford and Chevrolet:

Among Manufacturers, Chevrolet and Ford lead the charts. Chevrolet won the Daytona 500 14-times while Ford won it 17 times. Ford has won the last two editions, with Toyota winning the 2019 and 2020 editions.

Daytona 500 2024:

The Daytona 500 2024 will be the 66th edition of the Daytona 500 and is scheduled to take place on February 18th, 2024.


View more Sporting Contests