Where To Bet on the 2018 Ryder Cup

Click Here To Bet on the Ryder Cup

Golf is not among the most popular sports in the world. However, it still has nearly half a billion fans around the globe and a market value above 7 billion US dollars. With greater exposure and an increase in the number of facilities, the golf market is expected to grow steadily at a CAGR of 4.9% between 2022 and 2030.

Betting on the game of golf can be a very exciting sport in itself.  Try it!A number of prestigious and highly competitive golf tournaments are held around the world. The Ryder Cup Golf Tournament is one of the most historic competitions in the golf world, as it has been around since the 1920s and involves a unique format.

Ryder Cup:

Ryder Cup golf tournament is held between Golf Teams from America and Europe. The two teams include the best golfers from their respective regions and participate in the tournament with great enthusiasm and energy. It has a lot to do with the tournament's rich history. The competition is held after every two years. Thus, it is a biennial golf tournament.


Ryder Cup was first held in 1927 in the United States. In its early years, America and Britain competed against each other. It was decided that the two countries would alternately host the tournament. Initially, the home teams enjoyed a great advantage as the first five editions of the Ryder Cup were won by the home side.

However, the resumption of the tournament after the second world war featured great domination from the American Golfers as Britain managed to win only one Ryder Cup title between 1935 and 1977.

Around the same time, some top-quality golf players emerged in other European nations like Spain, Ireland, France, Sweden, Denmark, Austria, and Italy.

Team Europe's inclusion in the Ryder Cup:

In 1979, it was decided to rebrand Team Britain as Team Europe. The move meant that all the European golfers could represent the team in Europe. The move resulted in a wider talent pool for Team Europe, which directly led to increased competitiveness of the Ryder Cup Tournament.

So far, this has been the only major change in the history of the tournament.

Teams and Format:

Each team includes 12 players who play different matches against the opponents to score points for their team. Ryder cup is held between Friday and Sunday. Friday and Saturday feature four fourball matches and four foursome matches on each day, while Sunday features 12 singles matches involving all the players from each team.

In total, 28 matches are played, with all of them being above 18 holes. A win fetches your team one point, while a tie after the 18th hole results in splitting of the one point. Both teams get half a point in the case of a tie. The team that scores more points at the end of 28 matches wins the Ryder Cup Golf Tournament.

In the case of a tie at the end of the tournament, the defending champions retain the Cup.

Results Summary - Past Winners of the Ryder Cup:

The United States won 18 Ryder Cup Titles between 1927 and 1977 while retaining one title on the basis of a tie. On the other hand, the British side won only 3 titles during the period.

However, the competition has been a lot more competitive since 1979. Team Europe has won 11 Ryder Cup titles so far. In addition to that, the team also retained one title based on a tied match. During the same period, Team USA won 9 Ryder Cup titles.

USA – 28 Ryder Cup Titles
Team Europe – 12 Ryder Cup Titles
Team Brittan/ Great Britain – 3 Ryder Cup Titles

Team USA is the current champion of the Ryder Cup as well.

Ryder Cup 2023:

The 2023 Ryder Cup Golf tournament will be played over the weekend between 29th September and 1st October 2023. The tournament will be hosted by Team Europe and will take place in Italy.