NFL – Most Valuable Player Award: Betting Odds, Favourites and Past Winners

NFL is indeed the greatest league in the world. And, it is not just an exaggerated claim. There is factual data that supports the argument. With more than 180 million fans in the USA and half a billion followers worldwide, NFL is the biggest and most attended sports league in the world. The league has the highest average attendance per match among all the sports leagues in the world, with an average of 67,591 spectators attending every match. All of this has put NFL in the top tier and made it the most profitable sports league in the world. The most prestigious individual award in the NFL is the MVP award, which is awarded to the best player at the end of the 18-week-long season.

NFL - American Football MVP - Odds - Favourite to win.  Field and ball.National Football League – Most Valuable Player Award:

Even though NFL had started in 1920, it was not until 1938 that the first-ever most valuable player award was given. The winners would get Joe F. Carr Trophy back then. Over the years, different trophies and awards have been given to the NFL’s Most Valuable Players.

Associated Press Most Valuable Player:

Since 1957, the Associated Press Most Valuable Player award has been given to the season's outstanding player. Currently, it is the officially recognized NFL MVP award that is awarded at the NFL Honours. Jim Brown was the first player to win the Associated Press NFL MVP award in 1957.

Past Winners with Multiple Awards:

There are multiple players in the history of American Football who have won the NFL MVP award multiple times.

Who has won the NFL MVP award the most times?

Peyton Manning:

The former Football Quarterback, Peyton Manning, holds the record for winning the NFL MVP award most times. His iconic performances and contributions to the sport earned him five NFL Most Valuable Player awards with two different teams. His first four awards came with Indianapolis Colts in 2003, 2004, 2008, and 2009 while his only other award came with Denver Broncos in 2013.

All these achievements, records, and breathtaking performances earned him an entry into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2021.

Aaron Rodgers:

Aaron Rodgers, the Green Bay Packers quarterback, has been absolutely stunning in the league, especially in the last two seasons. Two back-to-back NFL MVP awards mean that he is second on the list of players with the most NFL MVP awards.

He has won a total of 4 NFL MVP titles, with glorious seasons in 2011, 2014, 2020, and 2021. Will he add a third consecutive MVP award to equalize with Peyton Manning or not?

That only remains to be seen!

Tom Brady:

The current Tampa Bay Quarterback and former New England Patriots star Tom Brady is third on the list of players with the most NFL MVP awards, with three titles to his name. He won the award in 2007, 2010, and 2017.

Other players with Multiple Awards:

Jim Brown, Johnny Unitas, and Brett Favre have also won 3 NFL MVP awards each. Moreover, Joe Montana, Steve Young, and Kurt Warner have won 2 NFL MVP awards each.

NFL Honours:

Every year, the NFL MVP award is presented at the NFL Honours ceremony. The ceremony has traditionally been held a night before the Super Bowl, with the exception of 2022. Other awards that are presented at the ceremony include Coach of the Year, Offensive player of the year, Defensive Player of the Year, Rookie of the Year, Comeback player of the year and various other awards in different categories.