Definition of Derby della Capitale

When two teams from the same city play against one another, it is always going to be a rivalry. Such a rivalry will escalate even further if they play in the same stadium and in a city such as Rome. Of course, we are talking about the Derby della Capitale between Roma and Lazio. It is one of the largest football rivalries in Italy, and even one of the fiercest derbies in Europe.

What is the name of the Rome derby between Roma and Lazio?  The King explains.The two teams started off with a rivalry even with their creation. Lazio was founded in 1900 and resisted the merge of all the Rome clubs into one by Benito Mussolini in 1927. The derby actually saw the first death in Italy due to football-related violence in 1979. Lazio fan Vincenzo Paparelli was hit in the eye by Roma fans and died from the wound. This violence would not relent, and in 2004, a match had to be abandoned due to a riot breaking out in the stands.

Throughout their history, Roma have been the more successful in the derby itself, winning 71 matches to Lazio's 54. There have been 66 draws, which shows the close nature of the derby. In terms of trophies (even those that no longer exist), both teams are extremely equal. Lazio have a total of 17 and Roma having 16, with Roma having 1 more Serie A title, while Lazio have more Supercoppa Italiana titles.

In recent times, it has been Lazio that is more successful, with the last trophy that Roma won coming in 2008. However, that has not stopped the Derby della Capitale form remaining as fiercely fought as ever. Long may this passionate rivalry continue.