German Bundesliga - Betting Odds, Favourites, History and Past Winners

Click Here To Bet on Bundesliga


Bundesliga is the top-level football league in Germany, with its second tier named 2. Bundesliga. The league involves a promotion and relegation system between the two tiers. In total, there are 18 teams in the Bundesliga’s top tier. It is the third biggest football league in Europe, judged on the basis of UEFA’s league coefficient.

How and where to bet on the German Bundesliga games.History:

Multiple subregional football leagues took place in Germany during the 1940s and 1950s. All these leagues operated at an amateur level of football. By the 1950s, the football clubs called for a central body for the administration of football in Germany. Eventually, 1963 was the year when Bundesliga was founded. So far, 59 editions of the league have taken place, with Bayern Munich being the most successful team in the history of the Bundesliga.


The league operates on a double round-robin format, with each team playing every other team in a home-and-away system. Each win gives three points to winners, while 1 point is awarded to a team in the case of a draw. At the end of the season, the club with the most points in the season wins the Bundesliga Title. Moreover, the bottom-ranked two teams on the points table are relegated to the lower Tier of the Bundesliga. Moreover, the third-last team on the league table plays a two-legged play-off against the third-ranked team in the second tier. The winner progresses to the top tier while the loser of the play-off moves to the second tier, 2.Bundesliga.

UEFA Champions League and Europa League:

The top-4 teams in the Bundesliga directly qualify for the group stages of the UEFA Champions League, while the 5th and 6th ranked teams play in the UEFA Europa League. The 6th-placed team competes in the third qualifying round of the Europa League.

Past Winners:

FC Bayern Munich:

Over the years, Bayern Munich has been the most successful team in the history of the Bundesliga. Bayern Munich Football club has been indomitable in the German league. Bayern has won 31 editions of the Bundesliga while finishing as the runners-up in 10 editions. Thus, Bayern Munich has been among the top 2 German teams in 41 out of 59 seasons of German Football. The club won the league in 1968–69, 1971–72, 1972–73, 1973–74, 1979–80, 1980–81, 1984–85, 1985–86, 1986–87, 1988–89, 1989–90, 1993–94, 1996–97, 1998–99, 1999–2000, 2000–01, 2002–03, 2004–05, 2005–06, 2007–08, 2009–10, 2012–13, 2013–14, 2014–15, 2015–16, 2016–17, 2017–18, 2018–19, 2019–20, 2020–21, and 2021–22 seasons. The current winning streak extends to 10 seasons, and Bayern would love to extend it further in the coming season.

Borussia Dortmund:

Borussia Dortmund has been the second most successful team in the history of the Bundesliga, with 5 titles to its name. Borussia won Bundesliga in the 1994–95, 1995–96, 2001–02, 2010–11, and 2011–12 seasons.

Borussia Monchengladbach:

Borussia Monchengladbach has also won the German league 5 times with titles in the 1969–70, 1970–71, 1974–75, 1975–76, and 1976–77 seasons.

Bundesliga 2022/23:

The 2022-23 season of the Bundesliga is the 60th season of the league. The season started on 5th August 2022, with the final matchday scheduled for 27th May 2023. FC Bayern Munich is currently sitting happily at the top of the league table with 34 points in 15 games.