Open Sud de France - Betting Odds, Favourites, History and Past Winners

Tournament Details:

Date: 2025.01. TBA
Location: France
Sport: Tennis
Surface: Hard indoor courts
Total Prize Money: €562,815

France is home to many globally recognized tennis competitions, with Roland Garros French Open being the biggest of them all. Among other major tennis tournaments that are held in France, Open Sud de France is an important competition that is part of the ATP 250 series. Even though the biggest names in the world of tennis do not turn to the competition, it still serves as a great breeding ground for emerging players and upcoming talent. Open Sud de France is also known as Grand Prix de Tennis de Lyon.

Open Sud de France tennis tournament is also known as Grand Prix de Tennis de Lyon - Bet on it!2024 Champion:

Alexander Bublik from Kazakhstan defeated Borna Coric from Croatia in the event final with 2-1 in sets.


Open Sud de France was first held in 1978. The competition was initially regarded as France's biggest tennis competition after the French Open. Back then, the tournament served as the decider of the French Crown.

Between 1990 and 1997, the tournament was a part of the ATP World Series. In 1998, it was added to the ATP International Series. Till 2008, the competition retained its status in the ATP International Series. However, it was added to the ATP tour 250 in 2009. Since then, the competition has retained its status as an ATP 250 tournament.


Over the years, the competition has retained its traditional hard indoor courts. Resultantly, there is a good bounce from the surface, and fast gameplay is on display.


The Palais des Sports de Gerland in Lyon originally hosted the competition. The indoor sporting arena in Lyon hosted the competition between 1987 and 2009. In 2010, the tournament was shifted from Lyon to Montpellier. Since then, the tournament has annually been held at the Montpellier Arena, France. The Palais des Sports de Gerland had a seating capacity of about 6000 spectators, while the Montpellier Arena had a seating capacity of more than 7500 spectators.

Another important change in the tournament's scheduling was that it was initially held in October. However, the 2011 event was moved to January 2012. Since then, the competition has been held annually in the January slot.

Status and Format:

Currently, the tournament is part of the ATP 250 series. Open Sud de France features matches for men in both singles and doubles categories.

Past Winners:


Richard Gasquet:

In the men's singles category, Richard Gasquet from France has been the most successful tennis player with 4 titles to his name. His 4 victories came in 2006, 2013, 2015, and 2016.

Pete Sampras:

The all-time great tennis star from America holds the record for winning three consecutive Open Sud de France editions. His victories came in 1991, 1992, and 1993.

Gael Monfils:

Gael Monfils from France has also won the Open Sud de France thrice.

Men's Doubles:

In the men's doubles category, Jacob Hlasek, Andy Ram, Nicholas Mahut, Roger Vasselin and Michael Llorda have won three titles each. It is important to note that they all won their editions separately with different partners.


View more Tennis Tournaments