Definition of Golden Glove

What is the meaning of the term Golden Glove in the sport of football?

Golden Glove is the trophy awarded to the best goalkeeper at the FIFA World Cup tournament. Ever since the first World Cup, which took place in Uruguay in 1930, one goalkeeper was named in the all-star team of the tournament. Since year 1994 the best goalkeeper of the tournament would be singled out and given a trophy. The award first was named after the legendary Russian goalkeeper Lev Yashin and then changed the name to Golden Glove in 2010.

Golden Glove - Term defined and explained by the Sports King. List of winners included.

Here are the names of goalkeepers recognized as the Golden Glove winners:

1930 Uruguay - Enrique Ballestero (URU)
1934 Italy - Ricardo Zamora (ESP)
1938 France - Frantisek Planicka (CZE)
1950 Brazil - Roque Maspoli (URG)
1954 Switzerland - Gyula Grosics (HUN)
1958 Sweden - Harry Gregg (ENG)
1962 Chile - Viliam Schrojf (CZE)
1966 England - Gordon Banks (ENG)
1970 Mexico - Ladislao Mazurkiewicz (URU)
1974 West Germany - Sepp Maler (GER)
1978 Argentina - Ubaldo Fillol (ARG)
1982 Spain - Dino Zoff (ITA)
1986 Mexico - Jean-Marie Pfaff (BEL)
1990 Italy - Luis Gabelo Conejo (CR), Sergio Goycochea (ARG)
1994 United States - Michel Preud'homme
1998 France - Fabien Barthez (FRA)
2002 Korea / Japan - Oiver Kahn (GER)
2006 Germany - Gianluigi Buffon (ITA)
2010 South Africa - Iker Casillas (ESP)
2014 Brazil - Manuel Neuer (GER)
2018 Russia - Thibaut Courtois (BEL)


It should be noted that goalkeepers can win the Golden Glove and the Golden Ball award in the same tournament. This is something only Oliver Kahn has achieved so far in year 2002.