San Diego Open - Betting, Odds, History and Records

Tournament Details:

Date: 2025.02.22 - 2025.03.02 TBA
Location: Barnes Tennis Center, San Diego, United States of America
Sport: Tennis
Surface: Hard court
Total Prize Money: $600,000

The San Diego Open is an important tennis event with a rich but fairly complex history. The event is also known as the Southern California Open and falls in the category of ATP 250 and WTA 500. The tournament is annually held at the Barnes Tennis Centre in San Diego, California. While the current WTA tournament started in 1984, an older version of the tournament was called the Southern California Championship, which ran between 1887 and 1978.

San Diego Open is a high-profile tennis ATP event hand annually at the Barnes Tennis Centre in California.

2024 Winner::

British player Katie Boulter won against Ukrainian Marta Kostyuk in three sets during the San Diego Open finals at the Barnes Tennis Center, with scores of 5-7, 6-2, 6-2.

Southern California Championships (1887-1977):

The southern California Championships event was an annual hard court tennis tournament for both men and women. The event was played at different locations that included Riverside, Santa Monica, South Pasadena, Long Beach, and Los Angeles. Raul Ramirez from Mexico was the last champion of the Men's event in 1977, after which the event was abolished.

Interesting Story Behind the ATP 250 tournament:

While most of the tennis opens started with Men's tournaments and later added events for Women, the Southern California Open continued as a WTA tournament for quite a long time. The Men's ATP 250 tournament was added to the competition in 2022. In 2023 there is no event for men.

Actually, the pandemic led to the cancellation of the Asian Swing. Following that, the Barnes Tennis Centre was issued an ATP 250 License for two years. Prior to that, it was conducted as a WTA-only event.

WTA Tournament at the San Diego Open:

Raquel Giscafre formed the women's event in the year 1984. It achieved the status of WTA tier-1 in 2004. However, it has been a significant event on the tennis circuit as it served as a perfect warmup for the glorious US Open tournament. Thus, all the big names in women's tennis would come to participate in the event, regardless of the event's status. The event's past champions include world-class players like Steffi Graf, Jennifer Capriati, Lindsay Davenport, Venus Williams, Martina Hingis, Justine Henin, and Maria Sharapova, all of whom achieved the coveted number-1 rank in during their careers.

Among past champions, the Swiss queen Martina Hingis won the event twice in 1997 and 1999. Venus Williams won the San Diego Open on three consecutive occasions between 2000 and 2002, which is a record even today. German player Steffi Graf holds the record for winning the event on most occasions, four times between 1989 and 1994. The former world number 1 Maria Sharapova also has her name on the honor roll with title-winning campaigns in 2006 and 2007. The last WTA event was held as a WTA Challenger event in 2015 that Yanina Wickmayer won.


View more Tennis Tournaments