Indian Wells Masters - Betting Odds, Favourites, History and Past Winners

Tournament Details:

Date: 2025.03 TBA
Location: United States
Sport: Tennis
Surface: Hard court
Total Prize Money: $17,600,000

The Indian Wells Masters is one of the more historic tennis tournaments in the world. Over the years, all the greats of the game have come to the iconic competition to try and win the glorious title of the Indian Wells Masters.

A scene from a recent Indian Wells Masters tennis tournament, also known as the BNP Paribas Open.  Bet on it!History:

The first edition of the Indian Wells Masters Tennis tournament was held in 1974 as the American Airlines Tennis Games. Later it was rebranded as 'The Congoleum Classic' in 1979. Since 2000, it has had names like The Tennis 'Masters Indian Wells Series' and 'The Pacific Life Open.'


Indian Wells Masters tournament is called BNP Paribas Open Tennis Tournament for sponsorship reasons.

Format and Scale:

The tournament involves competitions for both Men and Women. The Men's event has been an ATP Tour Masters 1000 competition, while the women's competition got the status of WTA 1000 in 2021. Earlier it was a WTA Tier competition.

The competition involves matches in both singles and doubles categories for both Men and Women.

Courts and Prestigious Nature of the Event:

The Indian Wells Masters Tennis tournament is among the premier tennis tournaments in the world. Often, it is regarded as the fifth Grand Slam of the Year.

The competition is played on Hard Court Surfaces with good bounce and speed. The venue for the competition is Indian Wells Tennis Garden. The venue is the second-largest tennis stadium in the world.

Fans turn up in large quantities each year to watch the competition, which takes it to the category of best-attended events in the world.

Current Champions:

The winner of the 2022 Indian Wells Masters tennis tournament: Carlos Alcaraz.  Bet on it!Carlos Alcaraz won his second Indian Wells title by defeating Daniil Medvedev in the final (again), taking the match in straight sets, 2-0.

Iga Swiatek captured her 19th career title and her second win of 2024 at the BNP Paribas Open. She won her second Indian Wells trophy, previously winning it in 2022, without dropping a set throughout the tournament.

Past Winners:

Many big names in the tennis world have come to the venue for the prestigious competition. There are some great names on the Roll of Honour.

Roger Federer:

The moment you talk about records at the Indian Wells Masters, the one name that comes to the top of the list is the all-time great tennis star, Roger Federer. The great man has dominated the competition like a freak. Other than him, Novak Djokovic has been an established name as well.

He holds the record for winning the most titles at the BNP Paribas Open Tennis tournament with 5 titles. He won the titles in 2004, 2005, 2006, 2012, and 2017. Moreover, he also holds the record for playing the most finals at BNP Paribas. He played in a record nine finals at the competition.

Moreover, he also holds the record for most consecutive titles, as he won three consecutive titles in 2004-06.

He also holds the record for appearing in the most consecutive finals, as he appeared in three consecutive finals twice in his career at BNP Paribas Open. (2004 to 2006 and 2017 to 2019)

He holds the records for playing and winning the most matches. He appeared in a total of 18 editions and became the oldest champion at the competition in 2017 when he won at the age of 35 years and 7 months.

Novak Djokovic:

Djokovic also won 5 titles at the competition and three consecutive finals in 2014, 2015, and 2016. He has the best winning ratio (50-9) in the competition.

Rafael Nadal and Other winners:

Rafael Nadal has won a total of 3 titles at the competition. Other winners from the past include some great names like Pete Sampras, Jimmy Connors, Boris Becker, and Jim Courier.

Women's Singles Winners:

In the women's singles category, Martina Navratilova, Mary Joe Fernandez, Steffi Graf, Lindsay Davenport, Serena Williams, Kim Clijsters, Daniela Hantuchova, Maria Sharapova, and Victoria Azarenka have all won two titles each.


View more Tennis Tournaments