World Test Championship - Betting Odds, Event Details, History and Records

Date: 2023.06.07 - 2023.06.11 Finals
Contest: CRICKET
Location: The Oval, London

Test Cricket is the longest format of Cricket, as each match is played over five days. It is the pinnacle of the sport as the longest format of Cricket has been around since 1877. However, it took the cricketing world almost 150 years to realize the value and importance of having a Global Championship for this format of the game.


For years, there was no World Championship in this format of cricket. Countries just played against each other without any broader incentives. However, the international cricket council stumbled upon the concept of the ICC World Test Championship in 2019, and the first-ever championship final was held in 2021.

Basically, Test Cricket has become boring since the turn of the century. With ICC Cricket World Cup (for 50 Over Cricket Matches) and ICC World T20 (20 Over Cricket) being the premier events over the cricketing calendar, Test Cricket had started to lose its charms and interest.

The talks about a Test Championship started in 2009, and ICC had planned the inaugural edition of the test championship in 2013. Following considerations, it was announced that the tournament's inaugural edition would be postponed till 2017 as it was not logistically and commercially feasible for the ICC to hold such a competition.

In 2014, the 2017 World Test Championship was canceled for similar reasons.
The Inaugural Edition of the World Test Championship 2019 - 21:


The inaugural edition of the World Test Championship started in 2019. There were a total of 9 teams in the Championship. Each team was scheduled to play three away series and three home series. At the end of the two-year cycle, the points from each series were added, and the Top two sides competed in the glorious World Test Championship final.

The 2021 Final at Lords - India vs. New Zealand:

The final of the World Test Championship 2021 was held at the home of Cricket, Lords. India finished at the top of the World Test Championship Table, while New Zealand was second.

The final was scheduled between the 18th and 22nd of June 2021. However, the rainfall forced the reserve day, and the match finished on the Sixth Day. New Zealand emerged as the eventual winners after beating India by 8 wickets in the final. Kyle Jamieson was the Player of the Match as he was the chief architect of India's wreckage with 7 key wickets across two innings, which involved dismissing the Indian Captain and Star Batsman twice.

2021-23 World Test Championship:


ICC had modified the Format of the 2021-23 World Test Championship. The only difference was that the positions would be decided on the basis of the percentage of points and not the total number of points won by a team over the two-year cycle.

Right now, more than half of the Championship has been played. Australia, Pakistan, India, and South Africa are the most currently in the running for the Final.

2023 World Test Championship Final:

Australia beat Indian in the final at 'The Oval' cricket ground in London.


The next cycle will begin in 2023 and run till 2025.


View more Sporting Contests