FIFA Women's World Cup - Betting Odds, Event Details, History and Records

Date: 2027.TBA
Contest: SOCCER
Location: Australia and New Zealand

Football is a global sport with a massive following across all parts of the world. People of all age groups, segments, and cultures play the sport. It is the most popular sport in the world, with more than 5 billion fans. The sport's elite competition is the FIFA World Cup, which is held for both Men and Women. The Women's FIFA World Cup is held every four years.

The FIFA Womens World Cup tournament takes place every four years.  The USA has won it the most times.  In photo: Italian national team during a game.  Bet on it!History and Inaugural Edition:

FIFA Women's World Cup was first held in 1991. So far, 8 editions of the competition have been held.

As far as the history of the competition is concerned, it dates back to the 1970s when multiple unofficial women's world cup tournaments were held. One of the reasons behind this timeline is that the countries started adopting and promoting Women's soccer in the 1970s. During the late 1980s, a number of FIFA members had their established Women's teams, with multiple competitions taking place in different parts of the world.

Initially, FIFA was hesitant about starting a Women's World Cup in an attempt to protect the main brand of the Men's FIFA World Cup. However, the inaugural edition of the FIFA Women's World Cup was finally held in 1991. China had hosted the inaugural edition, while 12 teams had participated in the competition. The response to the initial tournament was encouraging, as about 18,000 fans attended each match on average.

The illustration of the FIFA Womens World Cup trophy.  Digital drawing.  Art.


Created in 1998, the 47cm tall and 4.6kg FIFA Women's World Cup Trophy is crafted by William Sawaya and Sawaya & Moroni in Italy. The gold-plated sterling silver trophy is a spiral with a football on top, and the base is engraved with past winners since 1991.

Betting Odds:

As we are nearing the quarter-finals of the tournament, the betting odds to lift the trophy are:

Source: Bet365
Time Stamp: August 6th, 2023 11:53 pm EST
Odds Subject to Change

England +250
Spain +300
Japan +500
France +700
Sweden +800
Netherland +1000
Australia +1200
Colombia +4000
Denmark +10000
Jamaica +15000
Nigeria +15000
Morocco +25000


The qualification process involves qualifying tournaments in all six FIFA continental zones, with the respective confederations managing all these tournaments. FIFA decides the number of berths reserved for each of these continental tournaments on the basis of the respective strength of these teams.


As per the current format, 32 teams participate in the FIFA Women's World Cup. There are 8 groups, with four teams in each group. The group stages are followed by a round of 16 matches, quarterfinals, semi-finals, and the ultimate final.

Past Winners:

Who has won the most FIFA Women's World Cups?


USA women's football team has been the most successful side in the history of the competition. They have won a total of 4 FIFA Women's World Cup tournaments. Their victories came in 1991, 1999, 2015, and 2019. In addition to that, they also finished as runners-up once in 2011. They finished third in 1995, 2003, and 2007.

This shows how they have always made it to the top-3 sides in all 8 editions of the FIFA Women's World Cup so far.

Moreover, they have won the last two editions of the FIFA Women's World Cup and are in contention for adding a third consecutive title to their cabinet at the 2023 FIFA Women's World Cup.


The German Women's side has also enjoyed great success at the tournament. They won two consecutive FIFA Women's World Cup tournaments in 2003 and 2007. In total, they have made it to the top-four sides 5 times out of 8 editions of the FIFA Women's World Cup.


Norway Women's team won the 1995 FIFA Women's World Cup.


The Japanese Women's Team won the 2011 FIFA Women's World Cup. Similarly, they were the runners-up at the 2015 FIFA Women's World Cup.

FIFA Women's World Cup 2023:

FIFA Women's World Cup 2023 is scheduled to take place between 20th July 2023 and 20th August 2023. Australia and New Zealand will jointly host the tournament, with the final taking place in Sydney, Australia.


View more Sporting Contests