United Cup Betting Odds

Date: 2024.12.27 - 2025.01.05
Contest: Tennis
Location: Sydney and Perth, Australia

ATP Cup was among the few International Tennis Team Competitions that was founded in 2018. The competition was started in response to the changing Global Tennis Dynamics and featured some of the finest tennis stars of the modern era.

In August 2022, ATP formalized the discontinuation of the ATP Cup and announced a mix-gender tennis competition United Cup as its replacement from 2023 onwards.

Novak Djokovic in action for Serbia.  Bet on the United Cup, previously known as the ATP Cup.2024 Winner:

Germany secured the United Cup title by overturning a deficit to win 2-1 against Poland.

Alexander Zverev was pivotal in Germany's victory, first by saving two match points in his comeback match against Hubert Hurkacz in the men's singles. This effort tied the overall competition. Then, partnering with Laura Siegemund, they defeated Iga Swiatek and Hurkacz, clinching the title for Germany.


History and Foundation:

The concept of the ATP Cup was floated in 2018. The idea had its roots in the changing formats of the Davis Cup, which is the premier Men's Team Tennis Competition. ATP Director Chris Kermode was the man driving this idea, as he wanted to fill in the gap created by the discontinuation of the World Team Cup. World Team Cup was a similar team tournament that was regularly held between 1978 and 2012.

Initially, the new tournament was given the same name as the old one. However, it was soon changed to ATP Cup to give it a breath of fresh air.

ATP worked closely with Tennis Australia to launch the competition. It was announced that the competition would be held in three separate Australian Cities.

The tournament's Inaugural edition was played in 2020, with 24 participating teams. The competition was cut down to 12 teams due to covid restrictions and logistical issues in the following year. Similarly, the 2022 edition also featured only 16 teams as Covid measures were still in place.

Location and Venue:

ATP Cup was held in three Australian Cities, namely Sydney, Perth, and Brisbane. Pat Rafter Arena was the venue for the matches in Brisbane, while the Perth Arena and Ken Rosewall Arena served as the venues in Perth and Sydney, respectively.

It is worth mentioning that the 2021 edition of the ATP Cup was held entirely at Melbourne Park Arena in Melbourne because of Covid restrictions in Australia.


24 Teams were divided into six separate groups, with each having four teams. The competition involved two singles and one doubles match between the two teams. The set of two singles matches formed the foundation of the competition, while the doubles match only served as a tie-breaker if each team won one singles match.

Past Winners:

2020 - Serbia:

Serbia won the inaugural edition of the ATP Cup. The Serbian side included the star tennis player Novak Djokovic, Dusan Lajovic, Nikola Cacic, and Viktor Troicki.

The final of the 2020 ATP Cup was played between Serbia and Spain. The highlight of the final was the high-profile singles match between Novak Djokovic and Rafael Nadal. The Serbian won the match while his team won the ATP Cup 2020.

2021 - Russia:

ATP Cup 2021 was won by Russia as they edged Italy out in the final. The Russian team included the current world number 3 Daniil Medvedev and the young tennis star Andrey Rublev. Rublev and Medvedeev won their respective matches in the final against Italy and led their team to the title of the 2021 ATP Cup.

2022 - Canada:

Canada won the 2022 ATP Cup after beating Spain in the final. The young Spanish tennis players Pablo Carreno Busta, Alejandro Fokina, Pedro Martinez, and Roberto Bautista Agut were part of the Spanish Team, while Denis Shapovalov and Felix Auge - Aliassime comprised the Canadian Team.

2023 - USA

2024 - Germany

The German national team are the reigning tournament champions.


In August 2022, ATP formalized the discontinuation of the ATP Cup and announced a mix-gender tennis competition United Cup as its replacement from 2023 onwards.

The United Cup is scheduled to take place at the start of next year and will be the season opener for the calendar year.


View more Sporting Contests