Mexican Grand Prix - Betting Odds, Event Details, History and Records

Date: 2024.10.25 - 2024.10.27
Contest: F1
Location: Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez Circuit, Mexico City

Mexican Grand Prix is the 20th Grand Prix in the Formula One Championship this year and dates back to 1962, when the first non-championship event was held.

The Mexican Grand Prix - The annual Formula One race taking place in Mexico City - Bet on it.Since the event is among the last ones on the Formula One calendar, fans worldwide follow the premier event to see who gets the nose ahead. This year, it's the third last race in the championship and will play a key role in sealing the fate of the year.

2023 Winner:

Max Verstappen secured a commanding win at the Mexico City Grand Prix this weekend, quickly taking the lead as the race began and holding his position to finish ahead of Lewis Hamilton. This victory represents his fifth win at the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez and his 16th of the season. Leclerc claimed the final podium spot, finishing just ahead of Sainz.

2023 Betting Odds:

Max Verstappen was the Big favourite to finish first. He is having the best season of his career and has already won the F1 championship this year. He also won the F1 race in Mexico City last year. He had won it four times in total at that point. Here is what the odds looked like a few days prior to the event start:

Source: Bet365
Time Stamp: October 23rd, 2023 8:20 pm EST
Odds Subject to Change

Max Verstappen -350
Sergio Perez +700
Lewis Hamilton +1000
Lando Norris +1800
George Russell +2200
Charles Leclerc +2800
Carlos Sainz +3300
Oscar Piastri +4000
Fernando Alonso +6600
Esteban Ocon +25000
Pierre Gasly +2500


The inaugural Mexican Grand Prix was held at the Magdalena Mixhuca circuit in 1962. The event continued till 1970 before being shelved for the next decade. Later, it resumed between 1986 and 1992 but was again scraped from the F1 Calendar. In 2015, the Mexican Grand Prix returned to the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez circuit and has been a regular fixture since then. Recently, it was renamed the Mexico City Grand Prix. So far, 22 editions of the Grand Prix have been held.


The Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez circuit in Mexico City. It wa named after Ricardo Rodriguez who died while practicing for the GP event in 1962.

The science behind the Circuit:

Interestingly, the Circuit is located at an elevation of 2,238. This results in less dense, thinner air, which also reduces the impact of aerodynamic drag. This comes in as an important consideration for the downforce setups.

The Circuit has a total length of 4.304 km. The Mexican Grand Prix comprises 71 laps. As a result, the total length of the Grand Prix I 305.354 km.

Past Winners:


Jim Clark and Max Verstappen have been the two most successful drivers at the Mexican GP, though their eras have been entirely different.

Max Verstappen:

The Current Formula 1 Champion, Max Verstappen, is also the charts leader at the Mexican Grand Prix. He has won the Prix five times. His wins came in 2017, 2018, 2021, 2022 and 2023. It would be interesting to see if he can add to his titles.

Jim Clark:

Jim Clark was the winner of the inaugural edition and also won the competition in 1963 and 1967 to make it three wins over the year.

Lewis Hamilton:

The British Motorsport Driver Sir Lewis Hamilton has had his share of success and luck at the Mexican Grand Prix. He won the Mexican GP event twice in 2016 and 2019, while he had a podium finish last season.


Lotus has been most successful among constructors, with four wins in 1962, 1963, 1967, and 1968. Mclaren and Williams have won at the Mexican GP three times. McLaren won in 1969, 1988, and 1989 while Williams won in 1987, 1991, and 1992.

In recent times, Mercedes and Red Bull have competed several times. Both teams have won as constructors three times. Mercedes won in 2015, 2016, and 2019 while Red Bull won in 2017, 2018, and 2021.


As an Engine Manufacturer, Honda leads the charts with 6 wins. Climax, Ford, and Mercedes have all won it three times. Ferrari, Renault, and Tag Heuer won it twice as the car manufacturers.

Fastest Lap:

Valtteri Bottas of Mercedes has the record for the fastest lap at the Mexican GP. His time was 1:17.774.


View more Sporting Contests