Miami Open - Betting Odds, Favourites, History and Past Winners

Tournament Details:

Date: 2025.03. TBA
Location: Florida, United States
Sport: Tennis
Surface: Hard court
Total Prize Money: $17,600,000

Miami Open Tennis tournament is one of those iconic tennis competitions in the world that have great prestige and history associated with them. Over the years, it has been among the biggest tennis festivals in the world, attracting large audiences with lucrative prize money and top-quality performances.

In photo:  Naomi Osaka at the Miami Open tennis tournament.  Bet on the upcoming event.History:

The concept of hosting a tennis competition in Miami, as per international standards, surfaced during the 1960s. Back then, top tennis players like Pancho Gonzalez, Jack Kramer, Pancho Segura, Frank Sedgman, and Butch Buchholz played a series of matches as part of their station wagon tour.

Eventually, the tournament became a reality in the 1980s. It was planned to make it the first major tennis tournament of the year as the Australian Open was held in December back then. It was also dubbed Winter Wimbledon, considering the standard of the competition.

Back then, the prize money was set at 1.8 million US Dollars, bettered only by Wimbledon and the US Open at that time.

Since then, the tournament has grown in stature. The 2010 and 2011 editions of the competition attracted more than three hundred thousand spectators. Thus, making it the most followed tennis competition in the world after the four Grand Slams. Some people dubbed it the 5th Grand Slam of the Year.

Status and Venue:

Miami Open also known as Miami Masters, is a part of the Men's ATP 1000 Masters Series and Women's WTA 1000 circuit. It involves matches in singles and doubles categories for both men and women. The tournament is annually held at Miami Gardens in Florida on hard court surfaces. Between 1987 and 2018, it was hosted at Tennis Center at Crandon Park.

Sunshine Double:

The tournament is part of the Sunshine Double, which is a series of two consecutive hard-court tennis tournaments in the US involving the Miami Open and the Indian Wells Masters.

Current Champion

The 2024 Miami Open champion is Jannik Sinner, whos impressive 2024 season progressed with a 6-3, 6-1 final win against Grigor Dimitrov.

Betting Odds:

The odds for the 2025 edition of the Miami Open tennis tournament will be posted closer to the event date.

Past Records and Winners:

Men's Singles Winners:

Novak Djokovic:

Novak Djokovic has been the most successful tennis player in the history of the Miami Open. Djokovic has won 6 Miami Open titles, including 3 consecutive titles between 2014 and 2016.

Andre Agassi:

Andre Agassi also shares the record for most titles at Miami Open with 6 wins. He also won 3 consecutive titles in 2001-03. He also holds the record for appearing in the 8 Finals of the Miami Open.

Roger Federer:

The all-time Great Roger Federer has won 4 titles at the Miami Open, with victories coming in 2005, 2006, 2017, and 2019.

Women's Singles Winners:

Serena Williams:

Serene Williams leads the charts in the women's category by a fair distance. She has won a total of 8 Titles at the Miami Open. In total, she appeared in 10 Miami Open finals. Twice, she won three consecutive titles at the competition.

Steffi Graf:

The German Tennis queen Steffi Graf also enjoyed a great deal of success at the Miami Open, as she won a total of 5 titles in the competition's history. It included 3 consecutive titles in 1994-96.

Double's Category:

In the Men's doubles category, Bryan Brothers led the charts as they won 6 titles in 2007, 2008, 2014, 2015, 2018, and 2019.

In the women's doubles category, Jana Novotna holds the record with 7 titles. She won these titles with four different partners that, included Helena Sukova, Arantxa Sanchez, and Martina Hingis. Martina Hingis herself won 4 titles in the doubles category.

2024 Miami Open Tennis tournament:

The 2024 Miami Open Tennis tournament, also known as Tennistoernooi van Miami 2024, will take place between March 17th and March 31st.


View more Tennis Tournaments