Mexican Open - Betting Odds, History, Winners and Prize Money

Tournament Details:

Date: 2025.02. TBA
Location: Acapulco, Mexico
Sport: Tennis
Surface: Hard outdoor court
Total Prize Money: $2,013,940

Abierto Mexicano Telcel (Mexican Open), presented by HSBC, is a tennis tournaments that features matches in both the men's and women's Categories. The Mexican Open tennis tournament is one of South America's most prestigious tennis tournaments.

Rafael Nadal in action - The Mexican Open Tennis Tournament - Abierto Mexicano - Bet on it!History:

The first edition of the Mexican Open Tennis tournament was held in 1993. Back then, it was only a part of the ATP tour. The WTA tour competition started in 2001. Between 1993 and 1998, the competition was held in Mexico City. However, later it was moved to Acapulco.


The men's competition has the ATP Tour 500 Series status, while the women's competition is also an important fixture on the WTA tour. The tournament features matches in the Singles and Doubles Categories for both Men and Women.


Between 1993 and 2021, the tournament was played at the resort hotel Fairmont Acapulco Princess. However, it was moved to Arena GNP Seguros in 2022.


In addition to the change in venue, the tournament has also featured a change in courts. Between 1993 and 2013, the Mexican Open tennis tournament was played on clay Outdoor Courts. However, the competition transitioned from red clay to hard outdoor courts in 2014. Since then, hard courts have hosted the competition.

Current Champion:

The 2024 Mexican Open winner Alex de Minaur from Australia.  Bet on him!Defending champion Alex de Minaur beat Casper Ruud in the final with scores of 6-4, 6-4, securing the singles tennis title.

Betting Odds:

The odds for the 2024 edition of the Mexican Open - Abierto Mexicano tennis tournament will be posted closer to the event date.

Past Winners:

Men's Singles:

Rafael Nadal:

The 21-time Grand Slam champion Rafael Nadal has won the Mexican Open Tennis tournament on a record four occasions. He won his first title at the Mexico Open Tennis tournament in 2005. Later he won his second title in 2013. He further added to his tally in 2020 and 2022. He is the reigning champion of the Mexican Open Tennis tournament.

Thomas Muster:

The Austrian Tennis player and former world number one Thomas Muster has won the Mexican Open tennis tournament four times. What stands out in his record and sets him apart is the fact that he won four consecutive editions of the Mexican Open. Interestingly, he was the winner of the inaugural edition of the Mexican Open and added another three titles between 1994 and 1996 to make it 4 consecutive Mexican Open titles.

David Ferrer:

Another Clay specialist and Rafael Nadal's countryman David Ferrer has also won the Mexico Open four times. Between 2010 and 2012, he won three consecutive titles to complete a hattrick of Mexico Open Titles. He added a fourth title in 2015.


In Men's doubles category, Lukasz Kubot and Donald Johnson have been most successful, with three titles. Other than them, the Bryan brothers and a number of other players have won the competition twice in the doubles category.

Women's Singles:

Flavia Pennetta, Venus Williams, Sarah Errani, Lesia Tsurenko, and Amanda Coetzer won the Mexico Open twice in the women's singles competition. Amanda Coetzer was also the winner of the inaugural edition, while Sarah Errani and Lesia Tsurenko have won two consecutive titles.


In the doubles category, Maria Jose Martinez Sanchez and Arantxa Parra Santonja have been the most successful tennis players, with three titles.

2024 Mexican Open Tennis tournament:

The 2024 edition of the Mexican Open Abierto Mexicano Telcel presentado por HSBC tennis tournament Will be played at the end of February. Betting odds will be posted closer to the events.


View more Tennis Tournaments