Manchester United Only EPL Team To Have Accomplished The Task

Published on May 24th, 2022 12:30 pm EST
Written By: Dave Manuel

Barcelona FC are the latest team to win the Continental Treble.  In photo:  2015 UCL win celebrations. How many teams have won the continental treble?

First off, what is the continental treble?

The continental treble is described as winning:

1) The club's national league competition
2) The main continental trophy
3) The primary cup competition

So, in the case of an English Premier League team, this would involve winning the English Premier League, Champions League and FA Cup, all in the same season.


A total of seven UEFA teams have accomplished this task. They are:

Barcelona (twice)
Bayern Munich (twice)
PSV Eindhoven
Manchester United
Inter Milan

Manchester United is the only team to have accomplished this task in the English Premier League. In the 1998-99 season, they won the Premier League, FA Cup and Champions League, all in the same season.


A total of 21 men's football clubs have won the continental treble, including the aforementioned UEFA teams, as well as the likes of Monterrey, Auckland City and Cruz Azul.


A "treble" occurs when a club wins three trophies in the same season.

A "continental treble" was described above, and a "domestic treble" involves winning three national trophies in one season.

Related Articles