ICC World Cup T20 - Betting Odds, Event Details, History and Records

Date: 2024.06.04 - 2024.06.30
Contest: CRICKET
Location: USA and West Indies

Cricket's shortest Format, T20 cricket, started in 2003-04. The first ever T20 International Match was played in 2004 between England and New Zealand's women's sides. This was followed by the first Men's T20 international match between Australia and New Zealand. 2007 was the year when International Cricket Council came up with the Inaugural edition of the ICC World T20, the Cricket World Cup involving the shortest format.


The first-ever Men's 20-over Cricket World Cup was held in 2007 in South Africa. ICC held the first-ever Men's T20 world cup on an experimental basis, but the amazing success and response of the audiences meant that ICC had to adopt the competition as a permanent fixture on its calendar. Over the years, the competition has been held every two years, with 2018 being an exception.

Following the great success of the ICC Men's T20 World cup 2007, ICC organized the first-ever Women's T20 World Cup in 2009.

Past Winners:

Men's Teams:


India was the winner of the Inaugural Edition of the ICC World T20, as they won a close contest against Pakistan in the final. To date, this has been India's only T20 World Cup title. However, they did make it to the World Cup Final in 2014.


England won the 2010 ICC World T20 as they won the one-sided final against Australia. England's campaign had been fuelled by some magnificent performances from the premier Batsman Kevin Pietersen.

West Indies:

West Indies are the only team to have won the ICC World T20 tournament twice, as they won the 2012 and 2016 editions of the World Cup. What characterized the West Indies side in those years was the immense belief, majorly fuelled by their Captain, Darren Sammy. Marlon Samuels was the player of the match in both the tournament finals.


Australia won the 2021 ICC Men's T20 World Cup. Despite being the reigning champions, they crashed out of the ongoing ICC World T20 Campaign after some embarrassing performances.


The runners-up from the inaugural edition of the ICC World T20 made up for the loss by winning the ICC World T20 2009. They won the final comprehensively against Sri Lanka, courtesy of some brilliant all-round performances from Shahid Afridi and Umer Gul.

Pakistan's Men's side has been the most successful team in the tournament's history, as they have made it to the semi-finals 6 out of 8 times. On top of that, they are the only team to have made it to 3 T20 World Cup finals.

They are one of the two finalists in the ongoing tournament and sit happily with the final scheduled on Sunday.

Women's T20 World Cup Winners:

The Inaugural edition of the Women's T20 World Cup was won by English Women, who won the title on their home soil.

Australian Women's side has been the most successful team at the ICC Women's T20 World Cups with 5 titles.

West Indies are the only other team to win the ICC Women's T20 World Cup, as they won the 2016 edition of the tournament.

ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022:

ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022 is currently being played in Australia. The competition's final is scheduled for this coming Sunday, 13th November 2022. Pakistan has already qualified for the final and will play against the other semi-final winner between England and India.

ICC Women's T20 World Cup 2023:

ICC Women's T20 World Cup 2023 is scheduled to take place in South Africa between the 10th and 26th of February, 2023.

ICC World T20 2024:

The next edition of the ICC men's World T20 will take place in USA and West Indies in 2024.


View more Sporting Contests